APA 7th Referencing Guide

Elements of the reference

Group Author. (Year). Document title: Subtitle. URL of document

In-text citation - same author in same year

(Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia, 2016a) OR According to the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (2016a) ...

(Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia, 2016b, p. 4) OR  ... as noted by the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia ( 2016b, p. 4).

In-text citation - group author, with acronym

First citation: (Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency [AHPRA], 2019) OR The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA, 2019) ...

Subsequent citation: (AHPRA, 2019) OR AHPRA (2019) indicates ...

Reference list - same author in same year

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. (2016a). Enrolled nurse standards for practice. https://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/Codes-GuidelinesStatements/Professional-standards.aspx

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. (2016b). Registered nurse standards for practice. https://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/Codes-GuidelinesStatements/Professional-standards.aspx

[Note: for documents with the same group author and year, list alphabetically by title in the reference list, and add the suffix a, b, etc after the year.]

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency. (2019). Social media: How to meet your obligations under the National Law. https://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/CodesGuidelines-Statements/Codes-Guidelines/Social-media-guidance.aspx

EndNote reference type

Report

Elements of the reference

Title of entry. (Year - use n.d. if no year available). In Title of work - italicised. (Retrieved month day, year, from - if no year available) URL of the homepage of the work

[Note: for drug information from non-library sources, include [Drug information] after the article title]

In-text citation - examples

("Amoxicillin", 2022)

("Paracetemol", 2021)

Reference list - examples

Amoxicillin. (2022). In Australian medicines handbook. https://amhonline.amh.net.au

Paracetamol. (2021). In Australian injectable drugs handbook (8th ed.). https://www.shpa.org.au/AIDH_8th_edition 

EndNote reference type

Electronic book section - if required, convert to plain text, and add retrieval date

Elements of the reference - Manual as a whole

Group Author. (Year). Title of book (edition). (Publisher not required if same as author) DOI in the format https://doi.org/xx.xxxxxxxxxx)

Elements of the reference - section of the Manual

Group Author. (Year). Title of section. In Title of book (edition). DOI in the format https://doi.org/xx.xxxxxxxxxx)

In-text citation

(American Psychiatric Association, 2013) OR According to the American Psychiatric Association (2013) ...

Reference list - Manual as a whole

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596

Reference list - section of the Manual

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Dissociative disorders. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). https://doi-org.ezproxy.scu.edu.au/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596.dsm08

EndNote reference type

Electronic book; Electronic book section

Drugs Information

Elements of the reference

Author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year). Chapter (drug) title. Database title. (Retrieved month day, year, from - if no year available) URL of the database homepage

In-text citation; in-text citation with direct quote

(McEvoy, 2019) OR McEvoy (2019) describes...

(McEvoy, 2019, Drug Interactions) OR McEvoy (2019, Drug Interactions) lists ....

Reference list

McEvoy, G. K. (2019). Abatacept. Rehabilitation Reference Center. https://health.ebsco.com/products/rehabilitation-reference-center

EndNote reference type

Journal article

Clinical Review

Elements of the reference

Author(s) -  last name, initial(s). (Year). Article title [Clinical review]. Database title, pages (use page range on PDF). URL of the database homepage

In-text citation

(Cable & Wiemer, 2019) OR Cable and Wiemer (2019) indicate ...

Reference list

Cable, A., & Wiemer, H. (2019). Augmentative and alternative communication: Aphasia [Clinical review]. Rehabilitation Reference Center, 1-15. https://health.ebsco.com/products/rehabilitation-reference-center

EndNote reference type

Journal article - convert to plain text, and add [Clinical review] after the article title

Best Practice Information Sheet

Elements of the reference

Author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year). Title of article [Best practice information sheet]. Source, volume(issue), pages (use page range of PDF). URL of the database homepage

In-text citation

(Marin, 2020) OR According to Marin (2020) ...

Reference list

Marin, T. (2020). Effect of educational and support interventions on long-term breastfeeding rates in primiparous women [Best practice information sheet]. Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database, 22(1), 1-5. http://www.joannabriggs.org

EndNote reference type

Journal article - convert to plain text, and add [Best practice information sheet] after the article title

Evidence Summary

Elements of the reference 

Author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year). Title of article [Evidence summary]. Source, pages (use page range of PDF). URL of the database homepage

In-text citation

(Lizarondo, 2021) OR Lizarondo (2021) suggests ...

 Reference list

Lizarondo, L. (2021). Tourette Syndrome (children and adults): Dietary interventions [Evidence summary]. Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database, 1-2. http://www.joannabriggs.org

EndNote reference type

Journal article - convert to plain text and add [Evidence summary] after the article title

Elements of the reference

Author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year). Title of article. Database title. DOI in the format https://doi.org/xx.xxxxxxxxxx

In-text citation

(Singh et al., 2012) OR Singh et al. (2012) describe ...

 Reference list

Singh, J., Kour, K., & Jayaram Mahesh, B. (2012). Acetylcholinesterase inhibitors for schizophrenia. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD007967.pub2

EndNote reference type

Journal article

Elements of the reference

Group author or Individual author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year, month). Protocol title (Version/protocol number, if provided). Organisation (if not group author). URL of document

In-text citation - individual author

(Wilkinson et al., 2012) OR As indicated by Wilkinson et al. (2012) ...

Reference list - individual author

Wilkinson, N., Welsh, R., Kendall, E., & Inness, E. (2012, July). Prescription chart: Cyclophosphamide & rituximab regimen for systemic vasculitis (Version 2.0). Oxford University Hospitals. https://www.ouh.nhs.uk/oxparc/professionals/documents/Finaldraft-cyclo__ritux1710123.pdf

In-text citation - group author

(Minnesota Hospital Association, 2012) OR According to the Minnesota Hospital Association (2012) ....

Reference list - group author

Minnesota Hospital Association. (2012, March). Hypoglycemia: Adult management protocol. https://www.mnhospitals.org/Portals/0/Documents/ptsafety/ade/adult-hypoglycemia-management-protocol.pdf

EndNote reference type

Web page

Elements of the reference

Author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year). Title of original/review article. Database Title, volume(issue), pages. URL of database homepage

In-text citation - original article

(Buder, 2015) OR Buder (2015) concludes ...

Reference list - original article

Buder, A. (2015). Implementation of delayed cord clamping in the active management of the third stage of labour. MIDIRS Midwifery Digest, 25(2), 211-217. https://www.midirs.org/ 

In-text citation - review article

(Pearson, 2016) OR A further point is made by Pearson (2016) ...

Reference list - review article

Pearson, M. (2016). A physiological approach to the timing of umbilical cord clamping at birth [Review of "A physiological approach to the timing of umbilical cord clamping at birth," by S. B. Hooper, G. R. Polglase, & A. B. te Pas]. MIDIRS Midwifery Digest, 26(1), 74-75. https://www.midirs.com/

EndNote reference type

Journal article

In-text citation

• If you just mention the test in your text (i.e. no in-text citation required), ensure you capitalise the title, using title case. Do not italicise.
• If the test is known by its acronym, introduce it at the first use of the test in your text, unless you are only referring to the test once in your work.

Reference list

• Provide an entry for the test itself only if there is no manual or other supporting literature to cite. If a manual is available for a test, cite the manual (as per example below).

Elements of the reference - manual (hard copy test)

Group author or Individual author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year). Test Title: Technical manual/Examiner's manual (edition/version). Publisher.

Elements of the reference - online test

Group author or Individual author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year). Test Title (edition/version). URL of homepage of work

In-text citation - manual (hard copy test)

(Bishop, 2003, p. 5) OR According to Bishop (2003, p. 5) ...

Reference list  - manual (hard copy test)

Bishop, D. V. M. (2003). Test for Reception of Grammar: Technical manual (Version 2). Pearson Assessment.

In-text citation - online test

(Project Implicit., n.d., pp. 21-22) OR In Project Implicit (n.d., pp. 21-22) ...

Reference list - online test

Project Implicit. (n.d.). Gender-Science IAT. https://implicit.harvard.edu/implicit/takeatest.html

EndNote reference type

Book - convert to plain text and add the Version after the title

Osteopathic journals

Elements of the reference

Author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Article title: Subtitle. Magazine/Journal Title, page range. URL of magazine/journal home page [if viewed online]

[Note: Some of the historical journal articles do not possess both volume and issue numbers.]

In-text citation

(Booth, 1901) OR Booth (1901) ...

Reference list

Booth, E. R. (1901, June). Advancement in medicine from the drug stand-point. Journal of Osteopathy, 167-169. https://www.atsu.edu/museum-of-osteopathic-medicine/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/JournalofOsteopathy1901June.pdf

EndNote reference type

Journal article

Osteopathic yearbooks (print)

Sections of the American Academy of Osteopathy 52 AAO yearbooks from 1938-1998 DVD can be referenced as chapters in an edited book. 

Elements of the reference

Author(s) (of chapter) - last name, initial(s). (Year). Chapter title. In Editor(s) - initial(s). Last name (Ed. or Eds.), Book title: Subtitle (pp. page range of chapter). Publisher.

In-text citation

(Magoun, 1962) OR Magoun (1962) ...

Reference list

Magoun, H. I. (1962). Headaches of localized vascular origin. In M. W. Barnes (Ed.), 1962 Year book of selected osteopathic papers (pp 121-126). American Academy of Osteopathy.

EndNote reference type

Book section

Elements of the reference

Author(s) (of chapter) - last name, initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Chapter title. In Publication Title. Publisher. URL

In-text citation

(Federico & Krishnamurthy, 2020) OR ... as noted by Federico and Krishnamurthy (2020) .

Reference list

Federico, J. R., & Krishnamurthy, K. (2020, August 28). Albinism. In StatPearls. StatPearls Publishing. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK519018/

EndNote reference type

Electronic book section

Elements of the reference

Title of entry. (Year - use n.d. if no year available). In Database Title. URL of database homepage

In-text citation

("Providing palliative care in the community", 2016)

[Note: Double quotation marks are included for the title in in-text reference if title is not italicised in reference list eg. article title, chapter title.]

Reference list

Providing palliative care in the community. (2016). In Therapeutic Guidelines. https://www.tg.org.au/

EndNote reference type

Electronic book section

Elements of the reference

Author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year). Title of article. Database title. DOI in the format https://doi.org/xx.xxxxxxxxxx

In-text citation

(Wang et al., 2012) OR Wang et al. (2012) describe ...

Reference list

Wang J, Nie B, Xiong W, Xu Y. (2012). Effect of long-acting beta-agonists on the frequency of COPD exacerbations: a meta-analysis. Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1365-2710.2011.01285.x

EndNote reference type

Electronic book section

Elements of the reference

Author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year). Title of article. Database title. Retrieved month day, year, from URL 

In-text citation

(Bordeaux & Lieberman, 2020) OR Bordeaux and Lieberman (2020) stated that...

[Note: Include a retrieval date because articles in the UpToDate database have information that changes over time, and versions of the page are not archived.]

Reference list

Bordeaux, B., & Lieberman, H. R. (2020). Benefits and risks of caffeine and caffeinated beverages. UpToDate. Retrieved February 26, 2023, from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/benefits-and-risks-of-caffeine-and-caffeinated-beverages

EndNote reference type

Electronic book section

Elements of the reference

Author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year - use n.d. if no year available). Title (of article). Database title. Retrieved month day, year, from URL  

In-text citation

(Naturopathic Product Database, n.d.). OR Naturopathic Product Database (n.d.) stated that...

Reference list

Naturopathic Product Database. (n.d.). Extemporaneous dispensing. nPod. Retrieved August 12, 2024. https://www.npod.com.au 

EndNote reference type

Electronic book section

[Note: these reference elements are applicable for databases such as nPod, Physiotherapy Desk Reference and Natural Medicines]