Skip to Main Content

APA 7th Referencing Guide

Dictionary or encyclopedia – print version

Elements of the reference
Author(s) or editor(s) of work – last name, initial(s) - use & for multiple authors or editors. (Ed. or Eds. - if editor used). (Year). Title - italicised (Edition - if other than first). Publisher.
In-text citation
(Vogt & Johnson, 2016) OR Vogt and Johnson (2016), argued that ....
Reference list
Vogt, W. P., & Johnson, B. (2016). The SAGE dictionary of statistics & methodology: A nontechnical guide for the social sciences (5th ed.). SAGE.
EndNote reference type
Book OR Edited book (if editor used)

 

Dictionary or encyclopedia entry - individual author

Elements of the reference
Author(s) or editor(s) of work – last name, initial(s) - use & for multiple authors or editors. (Year). Entry title. In Editors - initial(s). Initial(s). Last Name - use & for multiple editors (ed. or Eds), Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia - italicised (Edition ed.). Publisher. DOI or URL - if available 
In-text citation
(Redmond, 2017) OR Redmond (2017)
Reference list
Redmond, B. F. (2017). Affective events theory. In S.G. Rogelberg (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of industrial and organizational psychology (2nd ed.). Sage. http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781483386874.n10
EndNote reference type
Electronic book section

Dictionary or encyclopedia entry - group author

Elements of the reference
Group author. (Year or n.d.). Title of entry. In Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia - italicised. Publisher (if the same as the author, omit). Retrieved Month Date, Year, from URL
In-text citation
(American Psychological Association, n.d.) OR The American Psychological Association (n.d.) defined ....
Reference list
American Psychological Association. (n.d.). Mindfulness meditation. In APA dictionary of psychology. Retrieved November 21, 2019, from https://dictionary.apa.org/mindfulness-meditation
EndNote reference type
Electronic book section

Dictionary or encyclopedia entry - no author

Elements of the reference
Entry title. (Year). In Editors - Initial(s). Last Name - use & for multiple editors (Ed. OR Eds.), Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia - italicised (Edition - if other than first ed.). DOI or URL - if available
In-text citation
(Accretion, 2018)
Reference list
Accretion. (2018). In H. Marcovitch (Ed.), Black's medical dictionary (43rd ed.). A&C Black. https://login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/blackmed/accretion/0?institutionId=180
EndNote reference type
Electronic book section