EndNote X9

Export references from databases to EndNote

Most databases include a time-saving option to save or export references directly to EndNote. When you select this option, the database automatically direct the references to the appropriate fields in your EndNote library.

 Basic steps to import references:
     1. Select the reference(s) that you want included in your library.
     2. Locate the Export, Download, or Save key in the database and choose the appropriate EndNote option (Note: RIS files are always EndNote compatible). 
     3. Select Continue / Open to download the reference. A pop-up screen usually appears, Mac users should select EndNote program from the drop-down window.
     4. Click OK to open with the Export Helper.
     5. Click OK and the reference(s) will automatically be saved to your library.
     6. Check that they have the right Reference Type and are formatted correctly by selecting the style in the drop-down menu and checking it in the Preview panel. Edit any fields with errors such as capitalization.

Mac users: Watch these videos if you are having difficulty downloading RIS files from a database to your Mac EndNote library:

• Configuring Mac to import to EndNote  

• Installing EndNote on macOS Mojave  

Tips for exporting from Databases

• Mac users, use Firefox rather than Safari or Chrome as your browser.
• You may need to adjust capitalisation. You can do so by highlighting the field (for example the title) and then clicking the case button at the top of the screen (or for Mac users, selecting Edit | Change case) and choosing the appropriate case.

   Exporting from Google Scholar

      1. Go to SCU library database listing and click on G to access Google Scholar.
      2. First, set your preferences to export to EndNote. 
            - Click the three horizontal lines (top left) then go to Settings (the cog at the bottom of the  list).
            - At the bottom of the page in the Bibliography Manager section, select “Show links to import citations into”
              and select EndNote from the drop-down box. Click Save. 
      3. Perform your search.
      4. To export one reference, click the “Import into EndNote” link under the reference.
      5. To export multiple references, create and sign in to your Google account, click the star icon to add selected
           references to "My Library". Go to My Library and use the Export button to transfer the selected items to your EndNote library.

Exporting from InfoRMIT databases

1. Perform a search in an InfoRMIT database 
2. Click the article title you wish to export
3. Click on the 'Export Citations' option
4. Select 'Endnote" from the list of styles
5. Click the download option