Preparing for Success

If you're looking for articles about a particular topic, try looking in one of our databases. Databases are large collections of journal articles and other information. The following are a selection of relevant databases. Each of our Subject guides also provide links to recommended databases.

The DOI is often found on the first page of an article. If you can't find a DOI for an article, try searching Crossref for the article title to check whether a DOI is available.

Your lecturer may require you to find peer-reviewed journal articles.  Here are some tips on finding out if your journal is a peer-reviewed journal:

There are 4 ways to check for peer-reviewed status:

• does the database allow you to restrict your search to peer reviewed publications (like Ebsco)
• does the database offer a way to check by clicking the journal title, or a browse title link (like APA-FT)
• search a specialised database such as Ulrichsweb or Serials Directory for the journal title. In Ulrichsweb you are hoping to see a little black and white striped referee shirt , in Serials Directory you are hoping for a statement: "Peer Reviewed: Yes". 
• search the web for the home page of the journal. Look for an information for authors/contributors page. Does it tell authors that their work will be subject to a peer-reviewed process.

Also remember to check that your article is scholarly and not just an opinion or commentary piece that happens to be in a peer-reviewed publication.  Some good indicators:

• the author gives their academic qualifications/affiliations with a university
• often there is an abstract
• substantial document - longer than 2 pages
• list of references at the end.