Via the Library
You are able to search the Library catalogue (OneSearch) on your topic, then limit your search to eBooks. Otherwise, browse through our various eBook collections.
- Credo Reference : a selection of reference books and study tools, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations.
- ProQuest Ebook Central: a growing collection of titles purchased individually by SCU Library to support research at the University. Can be downloaded to mobile compatible devices. View these videos to learn how to navigate, print or download books or book chapters from this ebook collection.
Public websites
As well as searching for eBooks within the SCU Library, there are also a range of free eBook suppliers. Explore the following sites:
- National Library of Australia provides access to several encyclopedias and dictionaries, once you have applied for a library card.
- FreeBooks4Doctors: Medical books.
- Free-eBooks.net: Fiction, tutorial, business and marketing.
- Google books: Book/content locator, (some full text) with good search options - also lists libraries which have the book.
- National Academies Press: More than 3,000 books on a wide range of subjects.
- The Online Books Page: From the University of Pennsylvania, this site facilitates access to books that are freely available over the Internet. It contains over 25,000 English works in various formats, and covers a broad range of topics including psychology, history, religion, geography, economics and business, sociology, literature, science and technology.
- Open Books Project: From the publisher O'Reilly. A collection of computing books. Topics include: Perl, MySQL, Linux and CGI.
- Project Gutenberg: Project Gutenberg is the Internet's oldest producer of free ebooks.
- University of California Press eScholarship editions: Collection of books on a wide range of subjects.
Want more research tips? Try our Research Ready Tutorial.
Writing Logically, Thinking Critically by 