EndNote Find Full Text
The Find Full Text command makes it possible to find the matching pdfs for references in your Endnote library. You can search for up to 250 records at a time.
Endnote will only be able to locate PDFs with a DOI (and even then, not all will automatically attach). Other PDFs will need to be downloaded and attached manually.
Setting Find Full Text preferences:
- Go to Edit (Mac users go to Application = EndNote21)
- Click Preferences, then select Find Full Text
- Check all the four Search options boxes
- Copy and paste the following URL into the Open URL path box
https://scu.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/openurl?institution=61SCU_INST&vid=61SCU_INST:61SCU&
- Copy and paste the flowing URL into the Authenticate with box
https://ezproxy.scu.edu.au/login
- Select the tick box next to 'Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references' if you would like this to happen automatically.
- Click OK to save the changes
8. After configuring the preferences, you will need to authenticate with SCU once before it will work.
Authenticate with Find Full Text
- Go to References menu
- Click Find Full Text > Authenticate
- Enter your SCU login credentials. This will return a page with a list of SCU databases. There is no need to select any of them.
- Click Done.
NOTE: you may need to periodically re-authenticate if you find PDFs aren't being attached. This may be because the connection has been reset to the OpenURL server.
Find and attach full-text PDFs
- If you would like to find full text for any existing references in your EndNote Library, highlight them, right-click, select Find Full Text.
- If you selected to 'Automatically invoke Find Full Text on newly-imported references', future references imported will automatically search for a PDF to attach.
- You can monitor the status of the Find Full Text command in the left pane (under your groups)
