Library guides: Natural and Complementary Medicine: Key Resources

Key Databases

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative resource available on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary alternative and integrative therapies.

AMED: Allied and Complementary Medicine
Searchable index of articles in modalities of complementary medicine (herbalism, chinese medicine, osteopathy, massage, holistic health and nutrition). Not full text, some abstracts.

nPod This link opens in a new window
nPod s a searchable platform of prescribing information for Naturopathy, Chinese Medicine, Western Herbal Medicine, Homeopathy and Nutrition products.
Phytotherapy Desk Reference This link opens in a new window
Access short, precise descriptions of over 250 of most commonly used herbs in Western herbal medicine and key herbs from the Ayurvedic and Traditional Chinese Medicine as well as important medicinal plants from New Zealand/Māori Aotearoa.
Mary Ann Liebert This link opens in a new window
Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. is a platform delivering impactful peer-reviewed research and authoritative content services to advance the fields of biotechnology and the life sciences, specialised clinical medicine, and public health and policy.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, including many complementary medicine articles. To search for complementary medicine only, select the limit Journal Subset > Alternative/Complementary Therapies
Medline Plus with Fulltext (EBSCO)
Index to all biomedical including complementary and alternative medicine articles from 1966. To search for complementary medicine only, select the limit Subject Subset > Complementary Medicine.

AMH (Australian Medicines Handbook) This link opens in a new window
We have an unlimited user license for students and staff of this drug reference resource.
AusDi by Medical Director This link opens in a new window
We have an unlimited user license for this drug reference resource.

AusDi by Medical Director
The primary medicines/drugs information resource used at SCU..