Natural and Complementary Medicine

The oldest natural therapies association in Australia, and the only national professional body of medical herbalists.

An independent, non-profit research and education organisation dedicated to providing accurate and reliable information for consumers, healthcare practitioners, researchers, educators, industry and the media. ABC publishes HerbalGram and HerbMedPro.

AHG is a non-profit, educational organisation representing the goals and voices of herbalists specialising in the medicinal use of plants.

The UK's leading professional body representing herbal practitioners.

Available through Healthy.net.

Leading American herbalist, Winston's site contains extracts from the Herbal Therapeutics Research Library - a collection of titles on medical botany, ethnobotany, Eclectic, Thomsonian, & herbal medicine, as well as holdings on the history of medicine, Chinese medicine, ayurveda, and phytochemistry.

Brings together three great systems of herbal healing - Western Herbal Medicine (WHM); Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) and Ayurvedic Medicine.

One of the oldest and largest herbal information sites online. This site contains classic herbal works, including major works like King's American Dispensatory, Felter's Eclectic Materia Medica, Ellingwood's American Materia Medica and an extensive image gallery.

A very useful evidence-based compilation of references and links on the data underlying the use of herbs for health. Note - SCU does not subscribe to the 'Pro' version, but you can still perform searches to find abstracts of articles.

Uses the tools of modern science to create pharmaceutical-grade ayurvedic products. The company has pioneered research that has converted Ayurveda’s herbal tradition into a complete range of proprietary formulations dedicated to healthy living and longevity.

Michigan based herbalist, McDonald's site contains materia medica and master herbal article index.

Includes full-text of Medical Herbalism, the quarterly journal of herbal medicine, and providers of classroom, clinical and distance learning education in medical herbalism.

Herbal websites compiled by Michael Moore. Includes full-text versions of classic herbals, including Eclectic, Thomasonian medicine, ethnobotany and traditional use, herbology and pharmacy.

Buhner is the author of Sacred Plant Medicine.

Wood is an active practitioner of traditional Western herbalism. He practices from a 'vitalist' perspective and has published many herbal texts including: Seven Herbs, Plants as Teachers; and Vitalism, The History of Herbalism, Homeopathy, and Flower Essences.