Library guides: Media: Key resources

Key databases

Newspaper Source (EBSCO)

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of US and other international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
For help with the EBSCOhost platform, see the Quick start guide.
ProQuest
Databases across all major subject areas, including Health, Education, Business, Social Sciences, and Science & Technology.
For help searching - ProQuest databases
Australian Public Affairs Full text (APA-FT) (InfoRMIT)
Collection of Australian Public Affairs resources including journals, magazines, multi-media sources, books, reports and conference material.
Current Contents Connect
Current Content Connect provides access to scholarly journals across science, social science, technology, and the arts and humanities. It includes complete bibliographic data, abstracts, reviews, editorials, corrections, and conference proceedings.
Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
Look for social trends reports
Cambridge Books Online
Browse by 'Film, Media, Mass Communication' subject or type in a search. Filter your results on the left by selecting 'Only show content I have access to'.
Cambridge University Press Journals Collection
Cambridge University Press Collection provides access to over 420 peer-reviewed academic journals under the Read & Publish agreement. Subjects span the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.

Key links

National Film and Sound Archive of Australia
Who listens to the Radio? A podcast about technology and culture.
The News Manual
Glossary containing more than 500 definitions of terms about journalism and the media - including new media.
All-media guide to fair and cross cultural reporting (Griffith Uni)

From Search to Source

From search to source: finding reliable information

ISBN: 9781875855032

Publication Date: 2025

From Search to Source: Finding Reliable Information is designed to support students through their learning journey at Southern Cross University. This book scaffolds students from a basic to a more advanced understanding of how to structure, explore and apply searching strategies and frameworks to locate and evaluate reliable and relevant information.

Google Scholar

Change your settings so that Find it @ SCU links automatically appear within Google Scholar in your search results:

Click the three horizontal lines (top left) then go to Settings (the cog at the bottom of the list)
Click Library links
Type in Southern Cross University and click the search button
Tick Southern Cross University - Find it @ SCU

If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote.
Click Save.

To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings.