Library guides: Legal Research Skills: Cases considering legislation

Noting up legislation

Finding cases referring to a specific section of legislation is called noting up.

Each database indexes different cases, so make sure you search more than one for a comprehensive search.

Lexis+ (Australia) This link opens in a new window
To be used exclusively for academic research only.

Provides Australian case law (including the CaseBase case citator), legislation, journals, commentary (including a comprehensive legal dictionary & the Halsbury's legal encyclopaedia), and practical guidance modules. Some international content (NZ, UK, US, Canada & Hong Kong) is also included.

View the Lexis+ (Australia) Help pages to get started.
View list of all sources or follow the instructions in the Legal Research Skills guide to access content from the different jurisdictions.
Westlaw Australia This link opens in a new window
Provides Australian case law (including the case citator KeyCite), legislation, journals and commentary (including the encyclopaedia 'Laws of Australia').
CCH iKnowConnect This link opens in a new window
Provides subject-specific Australian commentary, legislation and case law, with particular strengths in commercial, competition & consumer, contract, corporations, employment, family, IP, commercial property, taxation, and torts law.
To learn more about using CCH iKnowConnect, attend free live webinars run by CCH staff or read the training guides.
Note: SCU does not currently have access to the personalisation features such as saving favourites, shortcuts, email alerts, folders or search history.

AustLII This link opens in a new window
Freely available Australian database containing full-text legislation & case law. Also includes journals, law reform papers and and subject specific collections.

Jade
Produced by BarNet, Jade allows you to search, annotate & share Australian case law for free. Jade Professional provides additional features & is available to students at no charge. Email editors@jade.io from your student email address with current degree & expected year of completion.

Click Advanced Search below the main search box > select AU Cases from the drop down menu
Type the legislation title and provision number into the Legislation Title and Provision Number boxes

Under Content Types, click All Cases
Click Advanced next to the main search box
Type the legislation title and provision number into the Legislation Cited (Title) and Legislation Cited (Provision) boxes

Expand the navigation panel on the left-hand side
Expand the relevant practice area > then click Legislation
Click the title of the relevant legislation, then navigate to the provision in the legislation table of contents
From the provision homepage, click the Cases tab at the top of the page (you may also see tabs for related legislation, commentary, practical tools and regulatory resources)

Note: This will only find related documents that have been published by CCH and that are available via the SCU Library subscription.

Click the Cases & Legislation tab
Find the section of the legislation you are noting up
Click NoteUp references on the right-hand side of a section homepage to view other documents in AustLII (cases, secondary sources & other legislation) that have cited the provision.

Type the Act name and section number in the main search bar
From the pop-up suggestions, select the option to 'show citations' for the relevant section
Jade citator will show you where the section was cited to the paragraph level