Library guides: Environmental Science: Ebooks

Ebook collections via the library

Ebook Library (EBL): A growing collection of titles purchased individually by SCU Library to support research at the University. Can be downloaded to compatible devices.

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

Click here to see the SCU collection of Science, Engineering & IT OERs
Open textbooks are openly and freely available textbooks that are in the public domain or licensed with a Creative Commons License. Access to these texts aims to reduce the financial burden on students and improve learning outcomes. This dynamic collection has been curated by Librarians at Southern Cross University from the growing wealth of Open Educational Resources, both internationally and within Australia, with the specific goal of supporting students and staff across the University.

Ebooks via public websites

National Library of Australia provides access to several encyclopedias and dictionaries, once you have applied for a library card.
National Academies Press: More than 3,000 books on a wide range of subjects.
The Online Books Page: From the University of Pennsylvania, this site facilitates access to books that are freely available over the Internet. It contains over 25,000 English works in various formats, and covers a broad range of topics including psychology, history, religion, geography, economics and business, sociology, literature, science and technology.
Open Books Project: From the publisher O'Reilly. A collection of computing books. Topics include: Perl, MySQL, Linux and CGI.
Project Gutenberg: Project Gutenberg is the Internet's oldest producer of free ebooks.
University of California Press eScholarship editions: Collection of books on a wide range of subjects.
FreeBooks4Doctors: Medical books.
Free-eBooks.net: Fiction, tutorial, business and marketing.
Google books: Book/content locator, (some full text) with good search options - also lists libraries which have the book.