Skip to Main Content

Engineering

Databases

In addition to the core databases listed on the Key resources page, try these additional databases for a more thorough literature search.

In addition to the above list, try the following for project management literature.

Database search skills

Open access journals

Directory of free full text journals available online.

Peer reviewed or scholarly?

You may be required to find peer-reviewed journal articles. Here are some tips for finding out if an article is published in a peer-reviewed journal:

There are 4 ways to check for peer-reviewed status:

  • does the database allow you to restrict your search to peer reviewed publications (like Ebsco)
  • does the database offer a way to check by clicking the journal title, or a browse title link (like APA-FT)
  • search a specialised database such as Ulrichsweb or Serials Directory for the journal title. In Ulrichsweb you are hoping to see a little black and white striped referee shirt , in Serials Directory you are hoping for a statement: "Peer Reviewed: Yes". 
  • search the web for the home page of the journal. Look for an information for authors/contributors page. Does it tell authors that their work will be subject to a peer-reviewed process.

Also remember to check that your article is scholarly and not just an opinion or commentary piece that happens to be in a peer-reviewed publication.  Some good indicators:

  • the author gives their academic qualifications/affiliations with a university
  • often there is an abstract
  • substantial document - longer than 2 pages
  • list of references at the end.

 

Research Ready - Scholarly vs non-scholarly sources

This module that explains the difference between Scholarly and non-Scholarly resources.

 

Research Ready - Evaluating resources

A short module showing how to evaluate resources using the CRAAP test

Google scholar

Change your settings so that Find it @ SCU links automatically appear within Google Scholar in your search results:

  1. Click the three horizontal lines (top left) then go to Settings (the cog at the bottom of the list)
  2. Click Library links
  3. Type in Southern Cross University and click the search button
  4. Tick Southern Cross University - Find it @ SCU

If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote.
Click Save.
To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings.

Google Scholar Search
    
CRICOS Provider: 01241G TEQSA Provider Code: PRV12043 Australian University

Southern Cross University acknowledges and pays respect to the ancestors, Elders and descendants of the Lands upon which we meet and study.
We are mindful that within and without the buildings, these Lands always were and always will be Aboriginal Land.