Library guides: Childhood and Youth Studies: Journal articles & databases

StudyHub

The StudyHub interactive modules can assist in developing better study skills (planning, searching, writing, referencing and editing), numeracy skills and digital literacy skills (digital safety, copyright, evaluating online content, collaborating online and presenting your work).

Databases for finding articles

EBSCOhost databases This link opens in a new window
Select Academic Search Premier, Education Research Complete and ERIC from the list. This will provide access to the full text of international multidisciplinary scholarly articles covering areas such as social sciences, education, and health.
InfoRMIT This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles / conference papers / books & chapters pertaining to a wide range of social issues and topics. From the list of different databases, select any or all of the following: the Families & Society collection, the Humanities & Social Sciences collection, the Indigenous collection, A+Education and/or APA-FT (Australian Public Affairs fulltext).
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journal articles across a range of disciplines, including Education.

Google Scholar

Change your settings so that Find it @ SCU links automatically appear within Google Scholar in your search results:

Click the three horizontal lines (top left) then go to Settings (the cog at the bottom of the list)
Click Library links
Type in Southern Cross University and click the search button
Tick Southern Cross University - Find it @ SCU

If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote.
Click Save.

To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings.

Browzine journals

Browse journals and keep up to date

Below are some recommended journals. Click on the title of the journal to access the fulltext articles for each issue. To be notified when a new issue has been published, click on the RSS link and subscribe to the RSS feed.

Note that some publishers impose an online full-text publishing delay. You are able to use the Request a non-SCU item link (from the Library catalogue) to obtain copies of articles not available due to this delay.

Journal Homepage & Table of Contents	ToC RSS	Start year
Australian Social Work	RSS	1997
Childhood	RSS	1999
Childhoods Today	-	2007
Children & Society	RSS	1987
Children Australia	RSS	1994 (2 month delay)
Children's Geographies	RSS	2003 (12 month delay)
Childrenz Issues	RSS	1997 (2 month delay)
Communities, Children and Families Australia	RSS	2007 (2 month delay)
The Future of Children	RSS	2000
International Journal of Child, Youth & Family Studies	RSS	2010
International Journal of Children's Rights	RSS	1997 (12 month delay)
Journal of Child and Family Studies	RSS	1997
Journal of Children and Poverty	RSS	1998
Journal of Youth Studies	RSS	1998 (18 month delay)

About RSS feeds

RSS (Really Simple Syndication) feeds are a web-based alternative to email for receiving alerts from some databases and web-sites.

To subscribe to an RSS feed, simply click on the icon displayed on the webpage. Once you have subscribed, alerts are delivered to your chosen 'feed reader' as an XML file. You will be provided with a url to paste into the feed reader.

Some free feed readers are:

MySCU Blackboard Toolbox has a simple feed reader
Feedly
Netvibes