Children as Researchers in Primary Schools by
How often do your primary school pupils have the opportunity to engage in open-ended, sustained pieces of work that offer them choice and control?
Do you find that the curriculum restricts openings to provide your pupils with real challenge?
Is your school grappling with finding effective ways in which to elicit authentic pupil voice?
Children as Researchers in Primary Schools is an innovative and unique resource for practitioners supporting children to become ‘real world’ researchers in the primary classroom. It will supply you with the skills and ideas you need to implement a ‘children as researchers’ framework in your school that can be adapted for different ages and abilities. Children in primary schools are accustomed to being set short-term goals and are often unaware of long-term aims or of the connections between the concepts and skills they are learning. In contrast, this book demonstrates that children engaging in the research process have authentic opportunities to apply invaluable personal, learning and thinking skills while managing their own projects, making their ‘voices’ heard and experiencing increased levels of engagement and self-esteem.
Doing ethical research with children by 
Researching Children's Experience by
In essays written by a collection of key, international authors, this book examines methodological and conceptual approaches to researching children. This book is a practical, comprehensive and interdisciplinary guide for advanced students and researchers, exploring a range of studies, and the theoretical and ethical motivations behind them.
Global Approaches to Early Learning Research and Practice by
The health, development, and learning of many young children living in disadvantage areas are at serious risk. Access to education has improved under the United Nations Millennium Development Goals, and there are now programs in low- and middle-income countries that are aimed at improving instruction and learning. The research and evaluation on the effectiveness of such programs show there are significant challenges, but also some successes. This issue features presentations of leading international scientists, representatives from key governmental and non-governmental organizations, and others working with programs in the developing world and disadvantaged populations. The presentations describe the goals, existing challenges, and potential approaches to providing evidence-based programs to young children in rural, remote, and poverty stricken areas. Topics covered include: the state of early childhood in low and middle income nations, programs that have shown some success, and innovative research approaches that have been often considered unfeasible in these contexts. This is the 158th volume in this Jossey-Bass series New Directions for Child and Adolescent Development. Its mission is to provide scientific and scholarly presentations on cutting edge issues and concepts in this subject area. Each volume focuses on a specific new direction or research topic and is edited by experts from that field.
International Research on Education for Sustainable Development in Early Childhood by
This book offers a perspective on Education for Sustainable Development in Early Childhood (ESDEC) that is far removed from the 'business as usual' notion of an extended, predominantly environmental, educational curriculum for preschools. It presents a vision of sustainable development that has relevance to Early Childhood Care and Education (ECCE) from birth to school; it is relevant as much to homes, family support and health settings as it is to educational settings, and is as much concerned with health and wellbeing as with education. The book provides a perspective that is fundamentally embedded in notions of interdependency. It places an emphasis upon the importance of recognising the interdependency of peoples within and between nation states; the ecological interdependencies of the natural world; of humanity and nature; and most significantly the interdependency of adults and children. These emphases have their origins in the grassroots studies included in the ten chapters representing countries from around the world. The book reflects the idea that only global solutions and initiatives are capable of addressing the global challenges of climate change, environmental pollution, and global threats to ecological systems and biodiversity.
Psychometric Framework for Modeling Parental Involvement and Reading Literacy by 
Exploring Education and Childhood by
Education has become dominated by testing, standards, interventions, strategies and political policy. Yet while elements such as these are important, Exploring Education and Childhood contends it is childhood - including its sociology and psychology - that is the vital holistic context for teaching and learning. Written by a team of specialists who bring both experience of classroom teaching, teacher training, and of rigorous research and scholarship, each chapter examines a topic that is of vital importance to teaching and the work of teachers. 　The book explores examples of educational practice that illuminate contemporary　problems and future possibilities for education; develops educational theory to better understand practice and policy; and critically evaluates education policy in the international context.　With an emphasis on reflection and deep thinking - something that all the best teachers are able to do - key issues in the book include: the voice of the child metacognitive strategies agency, pedagogy and curriculum performativity, standards, and school readiness educational settings and new technology teacher expertise and agency diversity and child agency families, society and school choice. Illustrated with powerful examples of practice, together with key questions for reflection and further reading, Exploring Education and Childhood challenges education professionals, policy makers, and all people with an interest in education to envision a new future. It will be essential reading for all student teachers and teachers, and is particular appropriate for Masters-level research, professional studies, Education Studies.
Early Years Education and Care by
What are the new benchmarks for the future in good early years' provision? What should children and parents expect from practice given recent research evidence on how young children thrive? Developing and managing early years provision has changed significantly over the last few years. Parental expectations, policy creep, bureaucracy overload, inadequate training, a litigious climate, over-dependence on screens, traffic danger and child protection anxiety are among the many challenges now faced by early years providers. This timely new book explores the key issues faced by settings and what they mean for early years practice. Looking at the real evidence around children's learning and wellbeing, parental preference and social trends, the book covers: Neuro-scientific research into the way children learn What parents know and expect Children's wellbeing The indoor and outdoor environment Adult intervention The risk/benefit equation Nutrition, health and exercise Drawing on examples of outstanding practice from a wide range of settings, this exciting new book will help practitioners reach beyond what is expected and provide the very best for the children in their care.
The Palgrave handbook of disabled childrens childhood studies by 
Child Protection in the Early Years by
This accessible guide shows early years professionals how to create safe, supportive environments for young children who have encountered adverse childhood experiences. Explaining the impact of trauma on young brains, it gives practical instructions on how to recognise and respond to abuse. These instructions are supported by exercises, case studies, and reflection points that help you identify and improve your methods. Current legislation, policy and procedure are clarified in clear, concise language, providing you with everything you'll need to work with your team towards a happier, safer future for the children in your care.
Cultural diversity and inclusion in early years education by 
Leadership for learning - The new challenge in early childhood education and care by 
Language and Literacy Development in Early Childhood by
This book provides pre-service and practising teachers with an integrated approach to language and literacy learning in early childhood. Written by leading academics in the field, it explores how children learn to talk, play using language, become literate and make meaning - from birth through to the pre-school years. Emphasising the importance of imagination and the arts in language learning, this book addresses a wide range of contemporary issues, highlights the impact of diverse socioeconomic, language and cultural backgrounds on young children's language and literacy development, and shows how early childhood teachers can effectively partner with parents and caregivers to help children learn through and about language. Case studies, interviews, reflective questions, clear links to the Early Years Learning Framework and the Australian Curriculum, and a rich array of practical and creative activities for use in early childhood environments help students connect theory and current research to practice.
Universal Design for Learning in the Early Childhood Classroom by
Universal Design for Learning in the Early Childhood Classroom, Second Edition focuses on proactively designing PreK through Grade 3 classroom instruction, environments, and assessments that are flexible enough to ensure that teachers can accommodate the needs of all the students in their classrooms. Featuring updated language and examples to elevate discussions about inclusion and access along with a stronger anti-bias focus, this second edition includes new content on trauma-informed practice, strength-based approaches, social-emotional learning, family partnerships, and using remote and virtual technology. Highly practical and easy to use, this book remains THE essential guide to UDL in the early years.
Child Development in Educational Settings provides a comprehensive introduction to traditional and contemporary theories of development and learning in the contexts of early childhood and primary education. Drawing upon the experiences and perspectives of children, families, educators and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander scholars, Marilyn Fleer provides insights into significant theories and approaches, including cultural-historical, constructivist, social constructivist, maturational and ecological systems. The book features four major case studies, which are revisited throughout, to examine how learning and development can be re-imagined within socially, culturally and linguistically diverse communities. This approach enables readers to use theories to analyse and measure learning and development in planning and curriculum, and to feel empowered to enact change in their educational settings. Written in an engaging and accessible style, Child Development in Educational Settings is an essential resource for pre-service teachers and professionals alike.
Health and Wellbeing in Childhood by
The period from birth to twelve years is crucial in a child's development and can significantly impact future educational success, resilience and participation in society. Health and Wellbeing in Childhood, 2nd edition provides readers with a comprehensive foundation in health and wellbeing education across key priority areas, covering physical, social and emotional learning and development. This edition has been thoroughly updated to include the latest research and resources and incorporates expanded material on diversity, mental health and contemplative practice. Learning is supported through a suite of features including key terms, case studies, links to curriculum documentation, reflective activities and end-of-chapter questions. A new instructor companion website features a curated suite of reading materials, extension questions and sample responses. Written by an expert author team comprised of leading academics and practitioners, Health and Wellbeing in Childhood equips readers with the knowledge and skills to promote and implement effective practice in the field.
Child Development and Learning by 
Human Development by
For courses in Lifespan DevelopmentHelp students understand how culture impacts development -- and why it mattersHuman Development: A Cultural Approach leads students to examine all stages of development through the engaging lens of culture. Jeffrey Jensen Arnett and new coauthor Lene Arnett Jensen integrate cross-cultural examples throughout the narrative to reveal the impact of cultural factors both in the US and around the world. The 3rd Edition includes thoroughly updated research and data for a learning experience that best prepares students to face challenges in our diverse and globalised world -- whether they travel the globe or remain in their hometowns.
