Library guides: KLAs: Science KLA

Teaching resources

ABC Science
Explore the range of resources available on this ABC site, including the Teachers Resources .....
'Learn about meteorology
Provided by the BOM. Click on the Students/Teachers link in the image. The Curriculum Materials provide resources by year level ...
CSIRO | Education
Waste Not
Contains over 400 free, curriculum-matched learning activities to engage students in junior and senior English, Science, Geography and Art.
Enviro-Stories
Picture books & stories created by kids about their environment. You can read the books online (or download them as PDFs). Links to the Year 3-6 Australian Curriculum outcomes.
Oresome Resources
The Oresome Resources interactive site (& related iPad app) are aimed at secondary students interested in earth sciences and the mining / energy sectors.
Embedding Indigenous perspectives into Science
Supports the implementation of the AC. Slideshow created by MATSITI.

SERC (Science Education Resource Center)
Includes teaching methods as well as activities
NASA Education
Science Friday
Covering the outer reaches of space to the tiniest microbes in our bodies, Science Friday is the source for entertaining and educational stories about science, technology, and other cool stuff. Cick on the EDUCATE link for teacher resources.
NIH Office of Science Education
exploratorium
The exploratorium (science museum in San Francisco) provides access to a range of digital resources & educational activities.
Science Teaching Tips
A bite-sized podcast series of almost 70 episodes for science teachers, by science teachers. In each five-minute episode, we give you pedagogy tips, science history, hands-on activities, or other ideas for your science classroom. Made available via the exploratorium.
National Geographic - Education
Explore the range of Education resources, provided by National Geographic
World Science Festival
This site includes videos, articles and links to science around the world. There's a great introductory video under 'About WSF'.
Biointeractive
Resources, tools, animations, apps - of interest to scientists

CSIRO Science Image database
CSIRO has provided permission to freely use the images in their Science Image database. You can browse by topic, or search for specific images.
Getty Images
Getty Images are also now allowing anyone to freely embed images from their database (without watermarks) on websites or blogs - as long as the 'Credit' footer and link are retained. This is an amazing collection of resources.
CC Search
Lets you search for images with Creative Commons licenses using a variety of tools & platforms

EarthViewer
An interactive tool that allows you to explore the science of Earth's deep history.

You may be interested to explore Richard Dawkins 'Magic of Reality' iPad app. See the youtube trailer for more information.

Wolfram Alpha
Wolfram Alpha is a different search engine - either do a search on a topic, or browse the list of topics (physics, chemistry, earth sciences etc).

SciStarter
NatureMapping
NatureMapping takes kids - and technology - outside & into active learning

Science videos

Inside Science
ABC Education has broadcast a new science series "Inside Science" on Schools TV. The series is aimed at middle - upper secondary students, and episodes are only 15mins long.
National Science Foundation - YT videos
Science Friday
Covering the outer reaches of space to the tiniest microbes in our bodies, Science Friday is the source for entertaining and educational stories about science, technology, and other cool stuff. Cick on the EDUCATE link for teacher resources.
TIME: Timelapse
A tool (powered by Google) - that shows how the 'shape' of the world is changing.
The Scale of the Universe
(Use Firefox and not IE). Explore this fantastic animation - make sure you slide in BOTH directions, using the slide bar.
Use it to illustrate specific concepts of scale, or to discuss particular objects/items, or to demonstrate a creative use of technology.

You may be interested in the following article from The Conversation

What makes a popular science video on YouTube?

Books

Teaching for Conceptual Understanding in Science by Konicek-Moran & Keeley
Call Number: 507.12 KONI (Lismore, Coffs, Gold Coast)
Publication Date: 2015
Connecting with Science Education by Gregson
Call Number: 372.35044 CONN (Lismore, Coffs, GCTH)
Publication Date: 2013

Surrounded by science: Learning science in informal environments
The free PDF of this book is available. Published by the National Academies Press (2010).

Teaching primary science constructively 4th ed by Skamp
Call Number: 372.35044 TEAC (Lismore, Coffs, GCTH)
Publication Date: 2012
Learning and Teaching Primary Science by Fitzgerald
Call Number: 372.35044 LEAR (Lismore, Coffs, GCTH)
Publication Date: 2013
Hudson's guide for teaching primary science 2nd ed. by Hudson
ISBN: 1925271676
Publication Date: 2012
Free ebook - available on the Science With Kids TEDD site.
Science in Early Childhood by Campbell
Call Number: eBook + 372.35 SCIE (Lismore, Coffs, GCTH)
Publication Date: 2012
Young Children and the Environment by Julie M. Davis
Publication Date: 2010
Science Stories: Science methods for elementary and middle school teachers by Koch
Call Number: 372.35044 KOCH (Lismore, Coffs, GCTH)
Publication Date: 2012
Science by doing: engaging students with science (series)
Call Number: 372.35044 SCIE (Lismore, Coffs, GCTH)
Publication Date: 2011

Oxford big ideas: Australian curriculum: Science 7 by Cash
Call Number: 507.12 AUCU (Lismore, Coffs, GCTH)
Publication Date: 2012
The other books in this series (Science 7 -10) can be found using the same call number.
Pearson Science 10 (Australian Curriculum)
Call Number: 507.12 PEAR (Lismore, Coffs, GCTH)
ISBN: 9781442523647
Publication Date: 2012
The other titles in this series (Science 7-10) are available using the same call number.
Core Science : stage 4 & 5 by Arena
Call Number: 507.12 CORE (Lismore, Coffs, GCTH)
Publication Date: 2005
Pearson Science and Inquiry 1
Call Number: 507.012 SCIE (Lismore, Coffs, GCTH)
Publication Date: 2012
The other titles in this series are also available using the same call number
Science Focus 1-4 (2nd ed) by Rickard
Call Number: 507.12 SCFO (Lismore, Coffs, GCTH)
Publication Date: 2009
The Art of teaching science : inquiry and innovation in middle school and high school 2nd ed by Hassard Pt. 1: The art of teaching science. 1. The art of teaching science : a reconnaissance -- 2. Science for all -- 3. Facilitating science learning -- Pt. 2: The goals and the curriculum of school science. 4. On the history of science education -- 5. Science in the school curriculum -- 6. Science, technology and society in the science classroom -- Pt. 3: Connecting theory and practice in science teaching. 7. How adolescents learn science -- 8. Models of science teaching -- 9. Designing science units and courses of study -- Pt. 4: Strategies of science teaching. 10. Assessing active science learning -- 11. Strategies fostering thinking in the science classroom -- 12. The internet : moving toward web-based learning environments.
Call Number: 507.12 HASS (Lismore, Coffs, GCTH)
Publication Date: 2009

Free secondary science texts
- made available by the Utah State Office of Education

Collins dictionary of biology
Publication Date: 2005
The Usborne illustrated dictionary of science (Rev ed) by Stockley
Call Number: Lismore - 503 STOC (Lismore, Coffs, GCTH)
Publication Date: 2007

Building science vocabulary
A video / lesson plan & resources, from the Teaching Channel.
World Book
Browse the lesson plans & resources by topic, or search by grade / textbook etc. Resources suitable for Yrs2-6.