Library guides: Writing: Key resources

Key databases

AustLit (via National Library of Australia)
Register with the National Library of Australia to access this resource (or access it via your State library): AustLit is available from the NLA Literature guide. AustLit is a searchable, scholarly source of authoritative biographical, bibliographic, critical, and production information about Australian writers and writing. It also documents the publishers, newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals that make this work known. Material dates largely from the arrival of European print culture in Australia (c.1788) to the present. However, pre-1788 works, are included, as are references to the pre-colonial and continuing storytelling cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians.

Ebsco (Humanities International Complete and Academic Search Premier)

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
For help searching - Proquest databases
JSTOR - Arts and Sciences This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete archives of core scholarly journals in the areas of arts, humanities, music and social sciences.
Literature and Culture Collection (InfoRMIT) This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary Collection provides access to high ranking and iconic journals not available elsewhere. The broad subject coverage ensures relevance to library users of all interests especially Aboriginal and indigenous studies, arts, history, law, literary studies, media, political science and sociology.
Cambridge University Press Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals for the CUP Read & Publish agreement
Cambridge Books Online This link opens in a new window
Browse by subject or type in a search. Filter your results on the left by selecting 'Only show content I have access to'.

Key resources

Australian Book Review (ABR)
One of Australia’s major cultural magazines, presents high-quality journalism and new writing for the widest possible audience. It engages with all the arts, not just literature. It is diverse in terms of content, writers, and partners.
Australian Poetry Journal
Journal dedicated to the publishing of Australian Poetry publications
Gothic Studies
This Journal covers the field of Gothic studies from the eighteenth century to the present day
Harvard referencing style guide
The Harvard referencing style is used by all Creative Writing units at SCU. Details of the style can be found on the Harvard referencing style guide.

StudyHub

The StudyHub interactive modules can assist in developing better study skills (planning, searching, writing, referencing and editing), numeracy skills and digital literacy skills (digital safety, copyright, evaluating online content, collaborating online and presenting your work).

Google Scholar

Change your settings so that Find it @ SCU links automatically appear within Google Scholar in your search results:

Click the three horizontal lines (top left) then go to Settings (the cog at the bottom of the list)
Click Library links
Type in Southern Cross University and click the search button
Tick Southern Cross University - Find it @ SCU

If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote.
Click Save.

To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings.