Library guides: Veterinary Sciences: Key resources

Key databases

Vetlexicon (by Vetstream)

Vetlexicon is a reliable tool designed for veterinary professionals that will support you through your career. Whether you need a reference point for a specific diagnosis to help boost your confidence, or a sequence of images that refresh your knowledge with a surgical procedure, you will be able to find it on Vetlexicon.
Please see the Quickstart guide to VetLexicon here
Veterinary Source (EBSCO)

Veterinary Source is a collection of full-text scholarly journals and magazines devoted to all aspects of animal healthcare. International in scope, it is an essential resource for veterinarians, veterinary assistants, and students of veterinary science.
For help with the EBSCOhost platform, see the Quick start guide.
ScienceDirect
Full text scientific database, covering physical, life, social and health sciences. Note: all of the content in ScienceDirect is indexed in Scopus.
Scopus
Database index to articles in the sciences.
Web of Science Core Collection
Database index to articles in the sciences.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)

MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database from the United States National Library of Medicine, containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals.
For help with the EBSCOhost platform, see the Quick start guide.

Europe PMC
Europe PMC is a repository, providing access to worldwide life sciences articles, books, patents and clinical guidelines.
PubMed
Citations and abstracts for biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.

Books

Search for books here:

SCU library catalogue
Search a title or by keywords and use the 'Resource type' filter on the left-hand side on the results page to limit to books. Select 'Available online' for ebooks.

CSIRO
Searchable database offering access to scientific books, peer-reviewed journals, Double Helix Magazine, news services, and workshops from CSIRO Publishing, Australia's leading science publisher.
Ebsco eBook Collection (EBSCO)

Searchable full text database from EBSCOhost, offering a selection of scholarly, eBook titles from leading publishers. These titles cover a broad range of academic subjects and topics.
For help with the EBSCOhost platform, see the Quick start guide.
ProQuest Ebook Central
ProQuest Ebook Central is an Ebook platform; providing a broad range scholarly content.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley library offers over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, reference works and over 20,000 books, covering a variety of subjects including Agriculture, architecture, art, business and more.

General Veterinary books about becoming a veterinarian:

Learning Animals by Nadine Dolby
ISBN: 9781003269984

Publication Date: 2022

We are surrounded by thousands of animals, alive and dead. They are an intimate and ever-present part of our human lives. As a society, we privilege veterinarians as experts on these animals: they are our educators and teachers in what they say, what they do, and the decisions that they make. Yet, within the field of education, there is little research on the curriculum, pedagogy, and experiences of veterinary school and students. What do veterinarians learn in veterinary school? How do their experiences during those four years shape their perceptions of animals? How do the structures, curriculum, and pedagogy of veterinary college create and influence these experiences? Learning Animals opens up this conversation through an exploration of the complicated, fascinating and often painful stories of a cohort of veterinary students as they make their four-year journey from matriculation through graduation.
Creating Wellbeing and Building Resilience in the Veterinary Profession by Sonja A. Olson
ISBN: 9780367418793

Publication Date: 2022

Addresses the common stressors and struggles of those in the veterinary profession with a focus on real life stories and academic research. Emphasizes practical ways to build a positive supportive culture within the profession, through self-care and building resilience. Burnout, compassion fatigue and depression are major issues for the veterinary profession, and this book will help vets address these issues head-on and give them tools to overcome them.

Websites

Animal Health Australia
National body focused on animal health and biosecurity, collaborating with government and industry.
Web-Vet Neurology Specialists
WebVet Neurology Specialists is a veterinary education resource providing up-to-date information to veterinarians and owners looking to diagnose and manage neurological diseases in their pets.
Veterinary Information Network (VIN)
Information exchange site: For vets by vets. Free membership for students.
Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority
The APVMA is the Australian Government regulator of agricultural and veterinary chemical products.
The Animal Databases
Using the filters on the website, you can simply choose the type of animal you’d like to know more about and a range of databases will come up.
MSD Veterinary Manual
Includes veterinary content as well as pet health and wellness.

Professional organisations

Australian Veterinary Association
Professional organisation representing veterinarians across Australia.
Australasian Veterinary Boards Council
Promoting the integrity and sustainability of the Australian and New Zealand veterinary profession
Veterinary Nurses Council of Australia
Professional association for Australian vet nurses and technicians. Good for ongoing professional development with online conferences and publications.
Student membership is available.
American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA)
AVMA represents veterinarians from all disciplines and specialties across the profession.
World Veterinary Association
Providing global leadership for the veterinary profession and promote animal health and welfare and public health, through advocacy, education, and partnership.

Podcasts

The Vetpodcast
Current animal health issues discussed by professionals from around the world.
Veterinary Podcast with the VetGurus
Two Australian veterinarians working daily with unusual and exotic pets.
EVJ On the Hoof
An Equine Veterinary Journal podcast
RVCS Knowledge - Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine
Advancing the quality of veterinary care for the benefit of animals, the public, and society. Charity partner of the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons.
Conversations with Clive
A series of recorded dialogues with senior animal welfare scientists and academic experts.

Videos

Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
Resources for Veterinarians - Video clips on avian, bovine and canine diseases and necropsy
Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
Video clips to practice accurate anatomic diagnosis of disorders of the nervous system in domestic animals.
WikiVet - Category: Video
Multimedia videos on a wide range of veterinary topics.

Images

Imaging Anatomy
From the University of Illinois, "the Imaging Anatomy web site is a basic atlas of normal imaging anatomy of domestic animals. It is designed as an aid for veterinary students beginning their study of diagnostic imaging.
Breeds of Livestock
Educational and informational resource about breeds of livestock throughout the world.
Visual Guides of Animal Reproduction
Images of reproduction for multiple animal species.
University of Michigan's Animal Diversity Web
From the University of Michigan Museum of Zoology, this collection includes over 20,000 images of animals from across domains. Users can search or filter images by fields such as "ornamentation" and "life stages."
Animal Science Image Gallery
Images provided for educational use and outreach, and categorised for browsing. Encourages submissions from the public, which are peer reviewed for accuracy and quality.

Interactive resources

World Wide Science
A global science gateway to national and international scientific databases and portals. It uses a clustering and visual classification system.
Consultant by Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
A diagnostic support system for Veterinary Medicine
ECLINPATH by Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
An online textbook on Veterinary Clinical Pathology
Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine (EVBM)
Free online course and resources
VR dog and bovine
Virtual Reality experience created by Virginia Tech allowing students to explore the skeletal system and organs in a dog and cow. GPL-2.0 (General Public License).
Revision games - Wisc-online
A digital library on online learning objects.
PetMD - Veterinary terms
Dictionary of useful veterinary words.