Search the library collections in a new window, or use the search box below to enter author, title or subject keywords:
Top tips for effective searching in the library collections (vid. 2 min.):
Want more research tips? Try our Research Ready Tutorial.
You can search the catalogue by author, title, subject or keywords to find the location number. You can browse the Library shelves or the online 'shelves' at these numbers. These numbers are particularly relevant for your subject:
Nursing 610.73
Anatomy & Physiology 611-612
Pathophysiology 616.07
Mental health nursing 616.890231
Pediatrics 618.92
Gerontology 618.97
Nursing ethics 174.2
Indigenous Health 362.10899915
People with Disabilities [Services for] 362.04
Sociology of health 362.1042
Aged Care [Services for] 362.19
Children's Health [Services for] 362.7
Mental Health [Services for] 362.2
Credo Reference - Medical Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Includes Black's Medical Dictionary & Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by
Make sense of the complex world of health care with Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 10th Edition This one-stop reference includes detailed entries that help you communicate more effectively with colleagues in various disciplines. With over 56,000 definitions, 2,450 photographs and line drawings, and supporting reference appendixes and atlases, it is an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike.Over 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care.More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts.Strict, common-sense alphabetical organization makes it easy to find key terms and definitions.Detailed appendixes provide you with useful information on lab values, symbols and abbreviations, pharmacology, infection control standards, and more that can be used throughout your health career. NEW Approximately 5,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology.NEW Completely updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions to reflect current healthcare practice and equipment.
Bailliere's nurses' dictionary: for nurses and healthcare workers by
This popular classic, Baillière's Nurses' Dictionary, is now in its 26th edition, and fully updated to ensure it retains its usefulness to nurses and health care workers. New entries reflect the constantly changing world of health care services. Containing a wealth of useful information in a convenient pocket-sized format, this is an essential resource for everyone involved in nursing and health care. Appendices: 1 Nutrition 2 Resuscitation 3 First Aid 4 Medicines and their Control 5 The Legal and Professional Framework of Nursing 6 Standards of Conduct, Performance and Ethics Section 1: Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) Section 2: Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC) 7 Common Abbreviations 8 Common Prefixes, Suffixes and Roots 9 Units of Measurement and Tables of Normal Values 10 Immunization and Vaccinations 11 Occupational Health and Safety 12 Prevention and Control of Infection 13 Practice Development 14 Clinical Supervision Convenient, portable size Useful appendices Online resources Audio pronunciation guide - so that you can hear the correct pronunciation of the terms used Spellchecker - for downloading, so that your documents include correct medical spelling Word of the Day - helps you learn new terms Useful weblinks -point the reader to useful contacts and resources. Expanded appendices Online pronunciation guide Improved word search
Handbook of nursing diagnosis by
Carpenito's "Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis" is the ideal quick reference for Nursing Diagnosis information. This handbook offers practical guidance on nursing diagnoses and associated care. Compared to Carpenito's textbook, the handbook is a quick-reference type scope of content, easy for students to use while in clinical, in the classroom or simulation lab. From goals to specific interventions, Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis focuses on nursing. It provides a condensed, organized outline of clinical nursing practice designed to communicate creative clinical nursing. It is not meant to replace nursing textbooks, but rather to provide nurses who work in a variety of settings with the information they need without requiring a time-consuming review of the literature. It will assist students in transferring their theoretical knowledge to clinical practice. This title is intended for nursing students to use through their curriculum. The 15th edition is organized in three sections. Section 1 provides an alphabetical reference to nursing diagnoses, including NANDA-I definition and Section 2 focuses organizes all the health promotion/wellness nursing diagnoses for individuals. Under each diagnosis, Author's Notes will elaborate on the clinical usefulness of the diagnosis. Additional foundational knowledge is included in each diagnosis: NANDA-I definition Defining characteristics (physiologic, emotional and cognitive) Related factors including pathophysiologic, treatment related, and situational (personal and environmental) Maturational: infant/child, adolescent, adult and older adult Errors in Diagnostic Statements Key Concepts & General Considerations Special Population Consideration (Pediatric, Maternal, Geriatric, and Transcultural) Focused Assessment Criteria Goals (NIC/NOC) with Rationale Interventions for Special Population Lastly, section 3 covers Diagnostic Clusters, which presents medical conditions with associated collaborative problems and nursing diagnoses, designed for easy reference in the clinical setting. The handbook differs from the main textbook because it doesn't go into the foundation for understanding nursing diagnoses, including care planning and concept mapping. The handbook only covers the NANDA-I diagnoses and collaborative problems.
Nursing in Australia : contemporary professional and practice insights by 
Essential Law and Ethics in Nursing: Patients, Rights and Decision-Making by 
Interpersonal Relationships : professional communication skills for nurses by
Now more than ever, effective communication skills are key for successful patient care and positive outcomes. Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses, 8th Edition helps you to develop skills in communicating effectively with clients, families, and colleagues in order to achieve treatment goals in health care. Using clear, practical guidelines, it shows how to enhance the nurse-client relationship through proven communication strategies as well as principles drawn from nursing, psychology, and related theoretical frameworks. The 8th edition includes engaging new content relating to current issues, while also emphasizing interdisciplinary communication and QSEN competencies. You will learn how to apply theory to real-life practice through case studies, interactive exercises, and evidence-based practice studies. UPDATED! Perspectives and Contemporary Dynamics chapter revised to be more engaging and link the content closer to current issues and related communication concepts. UPDATED! Communicating in Groups chapter includes professional and task small group communication applications. UPDATED! Most chapters have been retitled and expanded to highlight a stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary health team communication. UPDATED! Safety and Quality in health care delivery (QSEN) competencies reflects current thinking on technology, safety, and evidence-based practice, especially as they relate to communication in nursing. UPDATED! Content throughout text includes stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary relationships and collaborative communication with related evidence based case studies and analysis. Expanded content related to socio-cultural communication competencies reduce health disparities and increase health literacy. Additional simulated exercises and discussion questions help you practice your reflective analysis skills. Revised content on social media and transitional care delivery reflects current practice standards. Discussion of spirituality and end-of-life needs focuses on trust, empathy, and the nurse-client relationship - all central components of holistic nursing identified by The Joint Commission as priorities for patient care. Nursing, behavioral, developmental, family, and communication theories provide an essential foundation and a theoretical perspective for effective communication. Interactive exercises let you practice, observe, and critically evaluate your professional communication skills in a safe learning environment. Case examples help you learn to develop empathy for clients' perspectives and needs. Ethical Dilemma and Evidence-Based Practice boxes help you absorb and retain key ethical content throughout text. Separate chapters on communication across the lifespan highlights crucial communication tools that are the first step in developing a culture of safety in contemporary health care delivery. NEW! Engaging content links the text to current issues and communication concepts.
