Counselling

Reflecting the latest research and practices, Corey/Corey/Corey's ISSUES AND ETHICS IN THE HELPING PROFESSIONS, 11th Edition, helps you discover and determine your own guidelines for helping within the broad limits of professional codes of ethics and divergent theoretical positions. This bestseller is the ideal resource for students in any helping field -- a book readers return to well into their professional careers. The authors point out central issues, present a range of diverse views on the issues, discuss their position and provide opportunities for you to develop your own informed position. Offering a wide range of perspectives, about 40 respected leaders in the counseling profession also share their positions through the new Voices From the Field feature. Also available, the MindTap digital learning solution delivers interactive learning, study and exam prep tools.

The first edition of Formulation in Psychology and Psychotherapy caught the wave of growing interest in formulation in a clinical context. This completely updated and revised edition summarises recent practice, research, developments and debates while retaining the features that made the first a leading text in the field. It contains new chapters on personal construct formulation, formulation in health settings, and the innovative practice of using formulation in teams. The book sees formulation as a dynamic process which explores personal meaning collaboratively and reflectively, taking account of relational and social contexts. Two case studies, one adult and one child, illustrate the use of formulation from the perspectives of expert clinicians from six different theoretical positions. The book encourages the reader to take a constructively critical perspective on the many philosophical, professional and ethical debates raised by the process of formulating people's problems. Among the issues explored are: The social and political context of formulation Formulation in relation to psychiatric diagnosis The limitations of formulation Controversies and debates about formulation This readable and comprehensive guide to the field provides a clear, up to date and thought-provoking overview of formulation from a number of perspectives, essential for clinicians working in all areas of mental health and social care, psychology, therapy and counselling.

Now in a significantly revised third edition featuring 60% new material, this is the authoritative clinical reference and course text on a crucial psychotherapy skill. Leading practitioners of major psychotherapies describe step by step how to construct sound case formulations and use them to guide individualized treatment. Following a standard format, chapters cover the historical background of each case formulation approach, its conceptual framework and evidence base, multicultural considerations, steps in implementation, application to treatment planning and practice, and training resources. Rich case material includes examples of completed formulations. New to This Edition *Chapters on additional models: mindfulness-based cognitive therapy, acceptance and commitment therapy, couple therapy, and thematic mapping. *Chapters on specific approaches for personality disorders, suicidality, and panic disorder. *Expanded case examples now go beyond crafting the initial formulation to show how it shapes the entire course of therapy. *Prior-edition chapters are all updated or rewritten to reflect 15 years of advances in research, clinical practice, and training.  

Clinical formulation lies at the heart of how mental health professionals understand psychological distress. It is the application of a framework that cohesively integrates scientific knowledge with the symptoms of distress. In essence, it is the creation of order to what is often experienced as disorder. The aim of this book is to bring awareness to the theoretical and practical opportunities for mental health professionals that exists by using atypical information when adapting typical formulation models. Each chapter reflects some variation in how formulation is defined, conceptualised and practiced, by using information that regularly materializes from professional encounters but often is omitted from the formulation of a particular presenting problem. Chapters on diet and exercise, sleep, spirituality, sexuality and meaning-making highlight how approaches to formulation can be extended to provide additional opportunities for intervention for the client and practitioner. A professional encounter orientated in the manner proposed will generate a type of formulation that will raise interesting and testable hypotheses that can assist in understanding 'stuck' points in therapy, difficulties within the therapeutic relationship, low motivation or inability to engage in particular approaches and will assist in devising person-specific mental health interventions. This book will appeal to clinical psychologists and psychotherapists in practice and training.

When people seek psychological support, formulation is the theory-driven methodology used by many practitioners to guide identification of the processes, mechanisms, and patterns of behaviour that appear to be contributing to the presenting difficulties. However, the process of formulating - or applying psychological theory to practice - can often seem unclear. In this volume, we present multiple demonstrations of formulation in action - written by applied psychologists embedded in clinical training, research, and practice. The volume covers a range of contemporary approaches to formulation and therapy that have not been considered in extant works, and includes unique sections offering critical counter-perspectives and commentaries on each approach (and its application) by authors working from alternative theoretical positions.

The revised edition of the clinicians' time-saving Psychotherapy Treatment Planner  Revised and updated, the sixth edition of The Complete Adult Psychotherapy Treatment Planner offers clinicians a timesaving, evidence-based guide that helps to clarify, simplify and accelerate the treatment planning process so they can spend less time on paperwork and more time with clients. The authors provide all the elements necessary to quickly and easily develop formal, customizable treatment plans that satisfy the demands of HMOs, managed-care companies, third-party payers and state and federal agencies.  This revised edition includes new client Short-Term Objectives and clinician Therapeutic Interventions that are grounded in evidence-based treatment wherever research data provides support to an intervention approach. If no research support is available a best practice standard is provided. This new edition also offers two new presenting problem chapters (Loneliness and Opioid Use Disorder) and the authors have updated the content throughout the book to improve clarity, conciseness and accuracy.  This important book:  Offers a completely updated resource that helps clinicians quickly develop effective, evidence-based treatment plans  Includes an easy-to-use format locating treatment plan components by Presenting Problem or DSM-5 diagnosis  Contains over 3,000 prewritten treatment Symptoms, Goals, Objectives and Interventions to select from  Presents evidence-based treatment plan components for 45 behaviorally defined Presenting Problems  Suggests homework exercises specifically created for each Presenting Problem  Written for psychologists, therapists, counselors, social workers, addiction counselors, psychiatrists, and other mental health professionals, The Complete Adult Psychotherapy Treatment Planner, Sixth Edition has been updated to contain the most recent interventions that are evidence-based. 

Existential Group Counselling and Psychotherapy provides a theoretical and practical foundation for practice. It serves as a guide that provides a solid grounding in the 'why' and 'how' of therapeutic group-work from an existential perspective. The first section of the book, Modern Origins, offers a review of modern western sources: a survey of early developments, what formats have endured, and to what extent these antecedents have informed, but are distinct from, current paradigms. The second section, Being and Doing, provides a description of the existential phenomenological paradigm for group therapeutic groupwork, reviewing possible therapeutic effects, as well as risks and disappointments that may affect both members, and facilitators. Part three, Doing and Being, covers practice, procedure, and possible problems. Written in a practical, accessible style, and incorporating clinical vignettes and anecdotal material, the book will be relevant for counsellors and psychotherapists in training and practice, as well as for special interest organisations that sponsor groups.

Embedding Counselling and Communication Skills provides step-by-step learning for those looking to gain theoretical and practical understanding of using counselling and communication skills within the helper role and explores how to apply these skills in the context of professional practice. Becky Midwinter and Janie Dickson introduce the reader to a new Relational Skills model which demonstrates the phases of relationship development. The authors show what happens within each phase and identify how and when to use skills appropriately. Learning is brought alive through the use of online unscripted video clip sessions of a real helper/client relationship giving the reader opportunities and encouragement to reflect and evaluate their learning. Written in a clear and accessible teaching style, Embedding Counselling and Communication Skills progresses through the 'initial helper' communication skills that are used in every day life, to the more complex and in-depth counselling skills required in a helper relationship. Knowledge of reflective practice, aspects of the relationship and how to manage change ensures the text considers the full range of general and specific skills and abilities required in a helper role situation, whilst the supporting online material is an invaluable tool to deepen and embed the theoretical understanding; practical application and self-reflection. This book will be an essential resource for students taking an introductory counselling skills course and qualified professionals who wish to enhance their knowledge of embedding counselling skills into their work and practice.