Click on the arrows on the bottom right of the window to expand to full screen.
When you are searching, always remember to set Google Scholar preferences - this means that you will be able to directly access any articles/journals that the SCU Library has subscribed to.
Please follow the instructions below:
If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote.
Click Save.
To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings.
A scholarly or academic journal publishes articles on original research and commentaries on current development in a specific discipline, or subject field.
A peer-reviewed or refereed journal is a scholarly journal that requires submitted articles to be subjected to a process of critical review by experts on the subject, known as referees, before determining if the articles be accepted for publication.
Search the library collections in a new window, or use the search box below to enter author, title or subject keywords:
Top tips for effective searching in the library collections (vid. 2 min.):
Want more research tips? Try our Research Ready Tutorial.
These subject headings are relevant for business and management areas - use hem to search for relevant titles in the catalogue or browse the library shelves by the call numbers.
| Subject headings |
Call number |
|---|---|
| Ethics | 170 |
| Business ethics | 174.4 |
| Environmental ethics | 179.1 |
| Economics (general) | 330-330.9947 |
| Labour economics | 331 - 331.8 |
| Macroeconomics & public finance | 336 - 336.94 |
| International economics & trade | 337- 337.94 |
| Sustainable development | 338.927 |
| Management (general) | 658 |
| Small business management | 658.022 |
| New venture creation | 658.11 |
| Venture capital | 658.15224 |
| Business planning | 658.4012 |
| Information management | 658.4038 |
| Social responsibility of business | 658.408 |
| Entrepreneurship | 658.421 |
The Routledge Dictionary of Business Management by 
Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management by 
Armstrong's Handbook of Management and Leadership by Please use FireFox or Microsoft Edge to access Factiva.
There is a useful online Help Guide available from ProQuest. It includes help pages on Simple Search, Search Builder, Results pages, Companies/Markets, and Sample Searches.Please use FireFox or Microsoft Edge to access Factiva.
There is a useful online Help Guide available from ProQuest. It includes help pages on Simple Search, Search Builder, Results pages, Companies/Markets, and Sample Searches.Most public companies provide their annual reports at the the Investor Information section of the company websites.
Use an internet search engine to find the company homepage or use the databases listed below to access company annual reports.
Try these sites to keep current of the developing stories and news in the business world and companies.
Harvard Business Review - Keep updated with current articles below:
You can browse the Library shelves for books in your area. These location (or Dewey) numbers may be relevant for economics:
|
Economics (general) |
|
330 - 330.9947 |
|
Labour economics |
331 - 331.8 |
|
|
Financial and insurance |
332 - 332.9 |
|
|
Macroeconomics and public finance |
336 - 336.94 |
|
|
International economics and trade |
337 - 337.94 |
|
|
Industry and protection |
338 - 338.9 |
|
|
Commerce and domestic trade |
380 - 381.5 |
You can browse the Library shelves for books in your area. These location (or Dewey) numbers may be relevant for entrepreneurship:
| Business planning | 658.4012 |
| Creative ability in business | 658.403 |
| Entrepreneurship | 658.421 |
| International business enterprises - management | 658.049 |
| Marketing | 658.38 |
| Mentoring in business | 658.3124 |
| New business entreprises | 658.11 |
| Small business | 658.022 |
| Technological innovations | 658.4063 |
| Venture capital | 658.15224 |
The Director and the Manager: law and governance in the digital age by 
Business Sustainability, Corporate Governance, and Organizational Ethics by You can browse the Library shelves for books in your area. These location (or Dewey) numbers may be relevant for ethics & corporate governance:
|
Ethics |
|
170 |
|
Political ethics |
|
172 |
|
Business ethics |
|
174.4 |
|
Bioethics |
|
174.2 |
|
Environmental ethics |
|
179.1 |
|
Human ecology |
|
304.2 |
|
Environmental economics |
|
333.7 |
|
Biodiversity |
|
333.95 |
|
Sustainable development |
|
338.927 |
|
Corporate governance |
|
658.4 |
|
Corporate governance – Australia |
|
658.400994 |
|
Social responsibility of business |
|
658.408 |
The School of Business and Tourism uses the Harvard referencing style.
For information on referencing please consult the SCU Library Harvard Referencing Style Guide online.
There are some tools available to help with referencing - once you are familiar with the Harvard style itself. You might like to explore our EndNote LibGuide and familiarise yourself with this reference management software.
