Library guides: Biomedical & Medical Laboratory Science : Key resources

Key databases

JoVE Advanced Biology Series
Video textbooks illustrating key concepts in Molecular Biology, Biology & Cell Biology
JoVE Core:Cell Biology
JoVE Core Cell Biology illustrates complex cellular processes in easy-to-understand yet comprehensive animated video lessons. This collection focuses on the essential components and functions of cells, including organelles and membranes, cellular transport, and cell energetics. It is complemented by scientist-in-action videos that demonstrate the application of cell biology in real-world research experiments.
JoVE Core:Molecular Biology
JoVE Core Molecular Biology showcases the molecular processes of the cell through clear and concise animated video lessons. Additionally, in scientist-in-action videos, these concepts' application is demonstrated through real experiments in modern laboratories.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)

MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database from the United States National Library of Medicine, containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals.
For help with the EBSCOhost platform, see the Quick start guide.
Mary Ann Liebert
A collection of journals primarily in the fields of biomedical research/life sciences, biotechnology, clinical medicine/surgery, and public health/policy.
ScienceDirect
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books, including the physical, life and health sciences.
CSIRO
Provides access to Australian journals in biological sciences, physics, healthcare, and chemistry.
SpringerLink ejournals
Includes full-text journal articles and book chapters in many disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, and physics.
Wiley Online Library
Includes full-text journal articles in the fields of chemistry, life sciences and medicine.

Introduction to health resources tutorial

Click on the arrows at the bottom right of the window to expand to full screen.

APA 7th referencing tutorial

Note: click on the arrows on the right side of the window to expand to full screen.

Style guides / referencing - APA 7th

For assistance with referencing, look at the APA 7th edition - SCU Referencing Guide, or refer to the Publication Manual of the APA below:

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: 808.027 PUBL

Publication Date: 2020 (7th ed.)

Manual for APA 7th referencing style

RSS journal feeds

Really Simple Syndication (RSS) is an XML based format used for content distribution and syndication. Subscribing to RSS feeds allows you to receive custom, up-to-date information without having to regularly check the website for updates.

Below is a 'Biomedical science, research and development' Topic Search in the Mary Ann Liebert database