Here are some helpful websites with advice from experienced academics.
Click on the arrows on the bottom right of the window to expand to full screen.
Some useful books to help you get started.
A peer reviewed journal contains articles that have been reviewed by a panel of experts prior to publication.
When you search various Databases you may have an option to restrict your search to scholarly / peer-reviewed / academic articles.
Check Ulrichsweb to see whether a journal is peer reviewed. Search for the name of the journal and the academic gown symbol.
This Library video shows you exactly what to look for.
Change your settings so that Find it @ SCU links automatically appear within Google Scholar in your search results:
If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote.
To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings.
A good search strategy is essential to get the best results and to feel confident that you have found all relevant material for your Literature Review.
See Database search tips for helpful, timesaving tips.
Finding and searching using the most appropriate descriptor or subject heading in a database ensures you find ALL the relevant material on that topic within that database.
Keep records of where you search and what search terms you used, so you don't waste time repeating searches at a later date!
In order to be sure you have done a really comprehensive search of the literature, here is a checklist of sources/types of information for you to use.
Books: Search the SCU catalogue and Libraries Australia which searches ALL library catalogues throughout Australia. The National Library of Australia and all the State Libraries are deposit libraries, so you can be sure you are seeing everything that has been published in Australia, including theses, reports and conference papers. Request an Inter-Library Loan for items not held at SCU. (Note: not available to offshore students.)
Electronic books: Search in the SCU catalogue and limit your results to "Available Online" and "Books."
Journal literature: Use databases to find relevant scholarly articles that are unavailable without an SCU login. To find suitable databases for your subject area, see the subject guides. Databases searches are essential to ensure that you have retrieved all relevant literature in your field. Google Scholar can also be used to locate articles.
Citation databases: e.g. Scopus and Web of Science allow you to trace the works of particular authors and provides citations to related articles. These sources provide both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web resources.
Websites of Organisations often contain useful links to other quality web resources. Find a key organisation in your subject area (government agency, nongovernmental organisation, scholarly society, research institute, professional or business association). Find their website and look for links.
Statistics are available online from a number of organisations. Supporting your argument with statistics can be a powerful tool for any researcher.
Grey Literature - Unpublished source material is an essential resource for some research projects but is often extremely difficult to locate and access. See our Grey Literature Library Guide or your Liaison Librarian for assistance.
Once you know the details of a thesis, how do you obtain the thesis? Here is a summary of what to do:
The School of Business and Tourism uses the Harvard referencing style.
For information on referencing please consult the SCU Library Harvard Referencing Style Guide online.
There are some tools available to help with referencing - once you are familiar with the Harvard style itself. You might like to explore our EndNote LibGuide and familiarise yourself with this reference management software.
Why use EndNote?
EndNote is free to SCU staff and students.
Go to the EndNote LibGuide for further information and to download the software.
Southern Cross University acknowledges and pays respect to the ancestors, Elders and descendants of the Lands upon which we meet and study.
We are mindful that within and without the buildings, these Lands always were and always will be Aboriginal Land.