Indigenous Education

Supports teachers to select appropriate resources for teaching Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories, cultures, and languages respectfully and effectively.

A free international research database for tertiary education, especially as it relates to workforce needs, skills development, and social inclusion.

This Aboriginal pedagogy framework is expressed as eight interconnected pedagogies involving narrative-driven learning, visualised learning processes, hands-on/reflective techniques, use of symbols/metaphors, land-based learning, indirect/synergistic logic, modelled/scaffolded genre mastery, and connectedness to community.

ACARA acknowledges the gap in learning outcomes between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students and their non-Indigenous peers. It recognises the need for the Australian Curriculum to provide every opportunity possible to ‘close the gap’.

Information on the QCAA strategies, resources, projects and initiatives that focus on increasing awareness of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspectives and improving outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students in Queensland schools.

Includes policy and strategy documents, and links to other programs

Created by the Indigenous Archives Collective, this guide includes the Indigenous Knowledge Attribution Toolkit, with a decision tree, advice about choosing appropriate sources and considering authorship.
Important: The Citation Style Guide in this source is not in the format recommended at SCU. Follow the guidance in the SCU referencing guides if referencing Indigenous Knowledges.

Includes videos, digibooks, articles, audio and more.

Includes videos, activities, discussion questions and other teaching resources.

Hundreds of books assigned to year/reading levels, including links to additional teaching resources for each title. Search the SCU Library Catalogue to check if we hold a copy of each book.

Focused on historians, however contains many useful readings and online resources.

Various cultural resources compiled by AIATSIS

Helps develop informed and confident educators who are able to engage with the story of Indigenous Australia professionally and personally.

Showcases examples of school-developed context-based teaching and learning projects collaboratively developed by teachers, Aboriginal education workers and local community members.

An educational resource targeted for students in Year 5/6 and Years 7/8. Resources need to be ordered from AIATSIS (there is no cost).

Can be used by teachers to connect mathematics and culture. The model ensures that students experience mathematics that is part of their living world and a part of who they are.

Interactive map of Aboriginal Australia created by David Horton. based on language data gathered by Aboriginal Studies Press, AIATSIS and Auslig/Sinclair, Knight, Merz, (1996).

Includes resources such as Gambay First Languages map, Wandan collections portal and the 50 Words Project.

Provides information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages which has been assembled from a number of referenced sources.

A leading regional language centre that provides strategic support to revitalise the languages of seven Aboriginal communities of central to north coast NSW.

Edited by David Nathan, this site has annotated links to 231 resources for about 80 languages. About 35% of these resources are produced or published by Indigenous people.

Aims to make accessible the rich archival collections of the State Library of New South Wales. The site features historic word lists, records and other documents relating to Indigenous Australian languages.

Includes an interactive QLD languages map.

A useful map to identify alternative spellings for Aboriginal Country names.

Here is a list of some greeting words or phrases from a range of Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages, from Queensland State Library.

Developed to align with and support the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers, applicable to teachers working in remote, regional and urban contexts.

The resources developed by this project empower schools and teachers to build effective partnerships with First Nations peoples and communities, contributing to improvements in outcomes for all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

The Introduction to Stronger Smarter Online Professional Learning Module presents the Stronger Smarter Approach™ (SSA) and examines critical elements of practice in schools working to make a difference in Indigenous education.

Provides services to support Aboriginal education in NSW.