Skip to Main Content

For Researchers

Why have a researcher identifier?

Researcher identifiers:

  • Help to make your work discoverable
  • Showcase your research achievements
  • Connect your name to all of your research outputs
  • Avoid outputs being incorrectly assigned to your name
  • Automatic updating of associated identifiers
  • Easily track your citations, h-index and other metrics
  • Attribute your research outputs to Southern Cross University
  • Minimise repetitive data entry

Researcher identifiers are essential for connecting you and your research outputs within the scholarly research community.  If you do not have an identifier you may not be getting credit for your work.

We recommend each of the research identifiers on this page. These identifiers vary in how they are created, managed and used. Work through the information on this page and the downloadable pdf files to make sure that you are gaining maximum benefit from each identifier.

Cross-referencing the profiles that you use for your research also helps others to track and engage with your research. We encourage you to list your research identifiers and social media profiles on your Southern Cross Researcher Profile, your ORCID profile, and other profiles if the option is available.

Publons and Web of Science

Publons logo

Publons helps you track your research outputs, achievements and activities.

Use your Publons identifier and profile to:

  • Claim your publications in Web of Science
  • Import your publications from Web of Science, ORCiD or your bibliographic reference manager e.g. EndNote or Mendeley
  • Automatically import citation metrics from Web of Science
  • Keep your publication list up to date by linking your ORCiD iD with PublonsWeb of Science, and InCites
  • Export your Web of Science publications to your ORCiD
  • Benchmark your research outputs in InCites, one of the databases used at Southern Cross University for benchmarking publication and citation metrics
  • Verify and summarise your work as an editor and peer reviewer.

HEINONLINE Author Profile Pages

HEINONLINE offers Author Profile Pages for authors of law review articles that are available in the Law Journal Library.

Profiles display a list of the author's articles, ScholarRank statistics, and can be enhanced to include biographical information and links to the author's other profiles and accounts.

Guidelines for locating and enhancing your profile in HEINONLINE

Southern Cross Researcher Profiles

Southern Cross University logo

Your Southern Cross Researcher Profile is a great way to showcase your research. It contains your photograph, a list of your research outputs with links to the full text (when available), your other research achievements and activities, and a summary of your research interests.

Further information about the Southern Cross Researcher Profiles

ORCID iD

 

We encourage all members of the SCU research community to create and use their ORCID iD via the SCU ORCID iD API. Registering your ORCID iD is quick, easy and free. Linking your ORCID to SCU systems is essential. 
 
ORCID provides digital identifiers for researchers, enabling your research outputs and achievements to be distinguished from those of every other researcher.
 
You can connect your ORCID iD with your professional information e.g. your affiliations, grants, publications, and peer reviews.
 
You can use your ORCID iD to share information with other systems, ensuring you get recognition for all your contributions, saving you time and hassle, and reducing the risk of errors in reporting your research.
 

Scopus

Scopus automatically assigns a unique identifier when you have published in a journal, book or conference proceedings that is indexed in the Scopus database. Your subsequent publications will be assigned to the same identifier. Search for yourself in Scopus to see if you have a Scopus author identifier.

Benchmark your research outputs in SciVal, one of the databases used at Southern Cross University for benchmarking publication and citation metrics, and based on Scopus data.  

Integrate your Scopus Author ID with ORCID to resolve any name ambiguity within publications and assign correct citation counts to your research outputs.

You are not able to edit your profile in Scopus or SciVal. To request changes, select from the options in the Scopus Support Centre.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar profile increases your online discoverability and visibility, and provides easy access to tracking citations of your research outputs that are listed in Google Scholar.

The advantage of a Google Scholar profile is that it may capture publications and citations that are not available in Web of Science or Scopus. This can be particularly useful if you are the author of publications like Government or other non-academic reports, or if your publications have been cited by non-academic works.

Make sure your list of publications is up-to-date in your other profiles. This is the best way to list and track your publications and citations in your Google Scholar profile.

For more information go to get started with Google Scholar Citations.