Skip to main content

For Researchers

Open Access Week 2018

Open Access Week 2018

Open Access Week is a global, community-driven week of action to open up access to research.

The Library & Office of Research are hosting events at Southern Cross University.

Movie screening - Paywall: The Business of Scholarship

Paywall: The Business of Scholarship

Researchers write, peer review and edit journal articles, so how can Elsevier justify a profit margin that is greater than Apple, Facebook and Google?

If you missed our screening in OAweek, view the movie here: https://paywallthemovie.com/

Cost of library journal subscriptions in Australia

The movie Paywall: The Business of Scholarship exposes the massive profits made by academic publishers. This is funding that could be supporting research in other ways.

How much do you think is spent each year on library journal subscriptions in Australia? The number of jellybeans gives you a clue – each jellybean represents $500 000.

 

Jelly bean jar

 

Come into the library to enter the competition for your chance to win the jellybeans. We have a jar at each campus.

We’ll be announcing the number of jellybeans - and more information about library journal subscriptions in Australia - on Friday 26 October, at the end of Open Access Week.

14 Days of Open Access

Learn something new about Open Access each day of October

visit each day for a new Open Access tool

  • Mo
  • Tu
  • We
  • Th
  • Fr
  •  
  • 1
    Open Access Health Check
  • 2
    Creative Commons CC-BY
  • 3
  • 4
    Directory of Open Access Books (doab)
  • 5
    Unpaywall
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9Southern Cross University, Library: Open Access
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 10ePublications@SCU
  • 11Sherpa/RoMEO
  • 12  SPARC
  • 13Analysis & Policy Observatory
  • 14Reserach Data Australia
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

22 - 28 October Open Access Week

Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Open Access Tools

Open Access Health Check How much do you know about Open Access? Take the Open Access Health Check to find out.
Creative Commons licences

A Creative Commons licence indicates how research outputs can be shared and used. A Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) licence enables works to be freely shared and adapted, while ensuring that credit is given to the creator.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a comprehensive database of open access journals. Search the database to discover journals that you might not know about, and could consider for your next manuscript submission.
Directory of Open Access Books (doab) The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a growing database of academic, independently peer reviewed books with an Open Access licence for example a Creative Commons Licence.
Uppaywall Unpaywall is a browser extension, available for Chrome & Firefox that enables you to discover Open Access versions of articles. A green padlock indicates that article is available via open access.
arXiv.org arXiv.org is a repository where preprints (submitted versions) in the fields of the physical sciences and engineering can be shared. arXiv.org has inspired the creation of preprint servers in other disciplines.
F.A.I.R.: Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Reusable F.A.I.R. is an acronym for “Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, Reusable”. The application of these principles to research outputs ensures that anyone can find, read, use and reuse them. Publishing your research outputs as Open Access will enable you to meet more of the F.A.I.R. principles.
The mission of the Australasian Open Access Strategy Group (AOASG) is to make Australasian research open and F.A.I.R. The AOASG website is a great resource for keeping up to date with Open Access initiatives and learning about tools that can assist in making research outputs more accessible.
Southern Cross University, Library: Open Access The Southern Cross University Open Access webpage provides information that is of direct relevance to you e.g. how you can make your work open access.
ePublciations@SCU ePublications@SCU, the institutional repository of Southern Cross University, highlights and preserves the scholarly and creative works produced by SCU authors and researchers, as well as special collections managed by SCU Library.
Sherpa/RoMEO Use Sherpa/RoMEO to check whether a journal publisher supports green open access i.e. allows you to share the accepted version of your article in ePublications@SCU.
The Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition The SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) Author Addendum is a legal instrument that can be used to modify a publisher’s agreement, allowing authors to retain rights to their articles.
Analysis & Policy Observatory The Analysis and Policy Observatory (APO) makes public policy research visible, discoverable and usable. You can use the APO database to search or upload your own reports, papers, data and other research outputs. You can also subscribe for regular updates.
Research Data Australia Research Data Australia helps you find, access, and reuse data from over one hundred Australian research organisations, government agencies, and cultural institutions. Load your research data to ePublications@SCU to make it available on Research Data Australia.
SCU SCU Library on Facebook SCU Library on Twitter SCU Library Instagram SCU Library SoundCloud