Skip to Main Content

Nursing

Try these additional databases

These databases are also useful for particular areas of nursing:

Finding a DOI

The DOI is often found on the first page of an article. If you can't find a DOI for an article, try searching Crossref for the article title to check whether a DOI is available.

Google Scholar

Change your settings so that Find it @ SCU links automatically appear within Google Scholar in your search results:

  1. Click the three horizontal lines (top left) then go to Settings (the cog at the bottom of the list)
  2. Click Library links
  3. Type in Southern Cross University and click the search button
  4. Tick Southern Cross University - Find it @ SCU

If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote
Click Save.

To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings.

Google Scholar Search

Database search skills

Explore nursing journals with BrowZine

Peer Reviewed or Scholarly?

Your lecturer may require you to find peer-reviewed journal articles.  Here are some tips on finding out if your journal is a peer-reviewed journal:

There are 4 ways to check for peer-reviewed status:

  • does the database allow you to restrict your search to peer reviewed publications (like Ebsco)
  • does the database offer a way to check by clicking the journal title, or a browse title link (like APA-FT)
  • search a specialised database such as Ulrichsweb or Serials Directory for the journal title. In Ulrichsweb you are hoping to see a little black and white striped referee shirt , in Serials Directory you are hoping for a statement: "Peer Reviewed: Yes". 
  • search the web for the home page of the journal. Look for an information for authors/contributors page. Does it tell authors that their work will be subject to a peer-reviewed process.

Also remember to check that your article is scholarly and not just an opinion or commentary piece that happens to be in a peer-reviewed publication.  Some good indicators:

  • the author gives their academic qualifications/affiliations with a university
  • often there is an abstract
  • substantial document - longer than 2 pages
  • list of references at the end.