Library guides: History: Key resources

Key databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Access EBSCO's large collection of scholarly journals and resources covering subjects such as social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural journals. Full-text, peer-reviewed Journals, periodicals, books and more.
For help with the EBSCOhost platform, see the Quick start guide.
Humanities international Complete (EBSCO)

Humanities International Complete offers access to full-text journals for humanities research worldwide. It includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full-text content.
For help with the EBSCOhost platform, see the Quick start guide.
JSTOR - Arts and Sciences
Provides access to the complete archives of core scholarly journals in the areas of arts, humanities, music and social sciences.
ProQuest
Databases across all major subject areas, including Health, Education, Business, Social Sciences, and Science & Technology.
For help searching - ProQuest databases
Trove - National Library of Australia
Trove is a free, online platform that offers access to billions of items from Australian libraries, museums, galleries, and archives—including newspapers, maps, books, photos, music, and personal records—allowing users to explore and locate both digital and physical materials anytime.
Cambridge University Press Journals Collection
Cambridge University Press Collection provides access to over 420 peer-reviewed academic journals under the Read & Publish agreement. Subjects span the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Cambridge Books Online
Cambridge books database includes research monographs, academic reference, textbooks: for professionals as well as students.
Scopus
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources for Scientific, Technical, Medical and Social Sciences literature including Arts & Humanities.
Wiley Online Library
Provides full text access to journals in a range of disciplines including: arts, social sciences, humanities, psychology, life sciences and medicine.
Australian Public Affairs Full text (APA-FT) (InfoRMIT)
Australian Public Affairs (full-text) for contemporary Australian topics. This can also be searched via the Informit link below.
Current Contents Connect
A multidisciplinary current awareness web resource, providing access to complete bibliographic information of journals, web sites and books. Updated daily.
InfoRMIT
Includes several relevant databases with Australian content such as APA-FT (Australian Public Affairs) and the Humanities and Social Sciences Collection.

Australian Federation Full Text Database
Australian historic newspapers
Digitised historical Australian newspapers from 1803 onwards

From Search to Source

From search to source: finding reliable information

ISBN: 9781875855032

Publication Date: 2025

From Search to Source: Finding Reliable Information is designed to support students through their learning journey at Southern Cross University. This book scaffolds students from a basic to a more advanced understanding of how to structure, explore and apply searching strategies and frameworks to locate and evaluate reliable and relevant information.

Google Scholar

Change your settings so that Find it @ SCU links automatically appear within Google Scholar in your search results:

Click the three horizontal lines (top left) then go to Settings (the cog at the bottom of the list)
Click Library links
Type in Southern Cross University and click the search button
Tick Southern Cross University - Find it @ SCU

If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote.
Click Save.

To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings.