Skip to Main Content

Guide to Online Legal Research

Key databases for finding journal articles

If you're looking for articles about a particular topic, try looking in one of our databases. Databases are large collections of journal articles and other information. The following are relevant for journal articles relating to law:

Finding journal articles on a case

  1. Go to Informit.
  2. You will be taken to the Advanced Search page.
  3. Enter the name of the Case in the Enter Search term box provided. 
  4. To add more search boxes (fields), click on the red + sign.
  5. To limit to full text only, check the Full Text box.
  6. Select Journal under the Content Type drop down list. 
  7. To limit by Publication Date, select from the available options.
  8. Click on Search.
  9. On the results page, select the Case name under the Legal Cases filter.
  10. All journal articles that have considered the case will now be displayed.

Please go to the new database Lexis Advance Pacific to access this title.

  1. Go to Westlaw AU.
  2. Click on FirstPoint under Search Templates.
  3. You will be taken to the FirstPoint search form.
  4. Enter the case name in the Case Title/Party Name search box (alternatively, you can enter the case citation, if known, in the Citation search box).
  5. Click on Search.
  6. A list of cases will be displayed.
  7. Click on the link to the FirstPoint record for relevant Case Title.
  8. Look at the section Noted in Journal Articles (this information may not be available for every case).

OR

  1. Go to Westlaw AU.
  2. Click on Journals under Search Templates.
  3. You will be taken to the Journals search form.
  4. Enter the case name in the Cases Cited (Title) search box. Alternatively, you can enter the case citation, if known, in the Cases Cited (Citation) search box.
  5. Click on Search.
  6. If required, you can refine your results by entering additional keywords in the Refine your Search box, or by selecting a relevant option from the Filter your Searchsection (click on the + sign next to the relevant filter.
  7. Articles will be found which have mentioned the specific case name/citation, but please note that the entire article may not be specifically about the case.
  1. Go to AustLII.
  2. Click on the link to [LawCite].
  3. Enter either the case citation in the Citation: search box, or parties name in the Parties: search boxes.
  4. Enter court or jurisdiction if required.
  5. Click on Search.
  6. A record for the matching case will be displayed. Locate the section Law Journal Articles Referring to this Case to see information about relevant journal articles.

Finding journal articles using Google Scholar

Change your settings so that Find it @ SCU links automatically appear within Google Scholar in your search results:

  1. Click the three horizontal lines (top left) then go to Settings (the cog at the bottom of the list)
  2. Click Library links
  3. Type in Southern Cross University and click the search button
  4. Tick Southern Cross University - Find it @ SCU

If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote
Click Save.

To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings.

Google Scholar Search

Finding journal articles on a topic

  1. Go to AustLII.
  2. Click on the link to Advanced Search (under the drop down arrow next to the search box).
  3. Select a search method by clicking on the relevant tab, i.e. Boolean Query.
  4. In the Enter your search box, enter relevant keyword/s or phrase.
  5. Enter a date range if required.
  6. In Select the database(s) to search...,deselect all databases by clicking on the arrow at the top of the list (note that the first time you search, all databases are selected by default).
  7. Select All Journals Databases from the list.
  8. Click on Advanced Search
  1. Go to HeinOnline.
  2. Click on the link to Law Journal Library (under Browse Databases by Name).
  3. Click on the Full Text tab at the top of the screen (if not already selected).
  4. Click on the link to Advanced Search (under the search box at the top of the page).
  5. Enter keywords/phrase into the search box/es.
  6. Select the relevant search field from the drop down list next to the search box/es, i.e. Text, Author/Creator etc..
  7. Optional:
    • ​​Choose a topic from the Topics list.
    • Select a journal title to search in from the Choose By Citation list or Choose by Journal Title list (use only if you want to limit search to specific publications).
  8. Enter years to search in the Date range box.
  9. Select option from the Sort by: list (the default is Relevance).
  10. Check relevant box/es in Section Types to Search?.
  11. Click on Search.
  1. Go to Informit.
  2. You will be taken to the Advanced Search page.
  3. Enter your keywords/phrase in the Enter Search term box provided.
  4. To add more search boxes (fields), click on the red + sign.
  5. If required, select a field to search in from the Anywhere default box, i.e. Subjects. 
  6. To limit to full text only, check the Full Text box.
  7. Select Journal under the Content Type drop down list. 
  8. To limit by Publication Date, select from the available options.
  9. Click on Search.
  10. To narrow/refine your results, select relevant filters to the left of the list of results.

Please go to the new database Lexis Advance Pacific to access this title.

  1. Go to Westlaw AU.
  2. Click on Journals under Search Templates.
  3. You will be taken to the Journals search form.
  4. Enter search terms in the Free Text search box.
  5. Click on Search.
  6. If required, you can refine your results by entering additional keywords in the Refine your Search box, or by selecting a relevant option from the Filter your Search section (click on the + sign next to the relevant filter).
  1. Go to WorldLII.
  2. Click on the link to [Advanced Search].
  3. In the Find box, select the relevant option from the drop down list, i.e. Boolean Query.
  4. In the Enter search query: box, enter keyword/s or phrase.
  5. In the Select the AustLII Database(s) to search: box, scroll through and select All Journals Databases from the list.
  6. Click on Search.

Finding journal articles on legislation

  1. Go to Informit.
  2. You will be taken to the Advanced Search page.
  3. Enter the name of the Act in the Enter Search term box provided. 
  4. To add more search boxes (fields), click on the red + sign.
  5. To limit to full text only, check the Full Text box.
  6. Select Journal under the Content Type drop down list. 
  7. To limit by Publication Date, select from the available options.
  8. Click on Search.
  9. On the results page, select the title of the Act under the Legislation filter.
  10. All journal articles that have considered the Act will now be displayed.

Please go to the new database Lexis Advance Pacific to access this title.

  1. Go to Westlaw AU.
  2. Click on Journals under Search Templates.
  3. You will be taken to the Journals search form.
  4. Enter the name of the Act or Regulation in the Legislation Cited (Title) search box.
  5. Click on Search.
  6. If required, you can refine your results by entering additional keywords in the Refine your Search box, or by selecting a relevant option from the Filter your Search section (click on the + sign next to the relevant filter.
  7. Articles will be found which have mentioned the specific legislation, but please note that the entire article may not be specifically about the legislation.

Explore Law journals with BrowZine