Skip to Main Content

Guide to Online Legal Research

Catalogue search

Open the catalogue in a new window, or use the search box below to enter author, title or subject keywords:

 

Top tips for effective searching using the library catalogue (vid. 2 min.):

ResearchReady Want more research tips? Try our Research Ready Tutorial.

Browsing the shelves

You can browse the Library shelves to locate print items. The following call numbers are particularly relevant for law topics:

Primary materials: are arranged by format and consist of documents that contain the law: legislation, law reports and indexes.

KF Great Britain - legislation and law reports
KG North America - legislation and law reports
KH 1 – KH 298 Australia - legislation and law reports (also includes some legal reference materials)
KH 306 – KH 347 New Zealand – legislation and law reports

 

Secondary materials: are arranged by subject and comment on and discuss primary materials. They include text books, monographs, journals, encyclopaedias and treatises. Please note that in the SCU Law Collection, encyclopaedias are shelved with the Primary Material.

K Legal Reference; Legal Writing
KA Jurisprudence
KB General and Comparative Law
KC International Law (primary and secondary)
KD Religious legal systems
KE Ancient and Medieval law
KL Legal systems - Common law
Covers non-specific legal topics such as the legal profession, legal education, research, administration of justice and legal history
KM Public law - Common law
Governs the relationship of individuals and the state and includes constitutional and administrative law, taxation and criminal law.
KN Private law - Common law
Regulates the relationship between individuals and includes contract, torts (negligence actions), property, family, health, industrial, equity, trusts, corporate and commercial law.
KT Asia and Pacific (primary and secondary)
KV Europe (primary and secondary)
KW European Community Law

eBook collections

Ebooks are available from a variety of sources, some via the Library and others directly from public websites. You are able to search the Library catalogue on your topic, then limit your search to eBooks. Otherwise, browse through the various eBook collections:

Clickview videos