Gastronomic Tourism

If you're looking for articles about a particular topic, try looking in one of our databases. Databases are large collections of mainly journal articles.​​

• ScienceDirect
  A very large collection of published scientific research and includes hospitality-relevant literature.
• Expanded Academic ASAP
  Covers hospitality industry services; hospitality management; hospitality marketing; restaurant industry advertising; restaurant industry contracts; and hotels and motels - services.
• Emerald
  Contains over 150 management journals published by MCB University Press and has reasonable coverage of hospitality management and marketing.
• Factiva
  Contains full-text newspaper articles from Australia and overseas.
• APA-FT 
  Provides Australian articles, on a wide range of public affairs topics.
• Australian Bureau of Statistics 
  The ABS database provides free access to census and other Australian statistical data collected by the ABS, including statistics on accommodation, cafes and restaurants and clubs, pubs, taverns and bars.

Below are some of the recommended journals for Gastronomic Tourism. Follow the links to view the journals online. The Table of Contents (TOC) for each journal's current issue can be viewed by clicking on the name of the journal. To be notified when a new TOC has been published, click on the RSS link and subscribe to the RSS feed.

Use our Document Supply Service to obtain articles in journals without a current subscription. Note that some publishers have an online full-text publishing delay of between 6 and 12 months.

Journal Homepage & Table of Contents	ToC RSS	Peer Reviewed	Start year
Food, Culture and Society: An International Journal of Multidisciplinary Research	RSS	Yes	2004
Journal of the Science of Food & Agriculture	RSS	Yes	1996
The World of Food Science	RSS	Yes	2013
Innovative Food Science & Emerging Technologies	RSS	Yes	2001
International Journal of Food Sciences and Nutrition	RSS	Yes	1996
Advance Journal of Food Science and Technology	RSS	Yes	2009
Advances in Food Sciences	RSS	Yes	2002
Tourismos	RSS	Yes	2006
British Food Journal	RSS	Yes	1992
Trends in Food Science and Technology	RSS	Yes	2001
Locale: The Australasian-Pacific Regional Journal of Food Studies	RSS	Yes	2011
International Journal of Sociology of Agriculture and Food	RSS	Yes	1991

Change your settings so that Find it @ SCU links automatically appear within Google Scholar in your search results:

1. Click the three horizontal lines (top left) then go to Settings (the cog at the bottom of the list)
2. Click Library links
3. Type in Southern Cross University and click the search button
4. Tick Southern Cross University - Find it @ SCU

If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote. 
Click Save.

To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings.

To locate a specific journal
Use the ejournals A-Z link in the top right of the catalogue search screen, or the eJournal titles link on the homepage of the library website. Please note that to find print only journals, you will need to search the catalogue for the journal title.

To locate a specific article
Use the catalogue, and type your journal article title inside "quotation marks". Or use the eJournals link above, find your journal, and search for the title using the database/journal search option.

Browsing trade journals and magazines is a good way of keeping up to date with events in the food industry.  Food writing can be popular or scholarly. The publications listed below are not scholarly and the articles are not peer reviewed.