LibGuides: MBA Candidates' Guide: Journal articles & databases

Searching for scholarly information

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This is a multidisciplinary group of databases which include a large number of business journals. To select particular economic databases such as ABI/INFORM from the ProQuest collection, click the 'Databases selected' link on the top left hand corner of the Advanced search screen.
InfoRMIT This link opens in a new window
Search the Business Collection for a range of relevant material related to Australia
JSTOR - Arts and Sciences This link opens in a new window
Jstor includes archives of academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Elsevier and other full text journals are covered from the core scientific and social science literature, including high-impact factor titles

OECD iLibrary
SCU no longer subscribes to OECD iLibrary. However, it is freely available through The National Library of Australia, The State Library of QLD, and The State Library of NSW. You will need to register/become a member first to gain access.

Find a peer-reviewed Journal

A peer reviewed journal contains articles that have been reviewed by a panel of experts prior to publication.

When you search various Databases you may have an option to restrict your search to scholarly / peer-reviewed / academic articles.

Check Ulrichsweb to see whether a journal is peer reviewed. Search for the name of the journal and the academic gown symbol.

This Library video shows you exactly what to look for.

Google Scholar

Change your settings so that Find it @ SCU links automatically appear within Google Scholar in your search results:

Click the three horizontal lines (top left) then go to Settings (the cog at the bottom of the list)
Click Library links
Type in Southern Cross University and click the search button
Tick Southern Cross University - Find it @ SCU

If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote.
Click Save.

To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings.