LibGuides: Indigenous Health and Wellbeing: Journal articles & databases

Try these additional databases

Start your research in the databases listed on the Key resources page of this guide. If you need to search more thoroughly, continue searching in the databases below.

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database, also useful for Indigenous literature in other countries. Try adding (Aboriginal OR "Torres Strait Islander" OR Indigenous) AND Australia* to your search for more relevant results.
Taylor and Francis This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database. Try adding (Aboriginal OR "Torres Strait Islander" OR Indigenous) AND Australia* to your search for more relevant results
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database. Try adding (Aboriginal OR "Torres Strait Islander" OR Indigenous) AND Australia* to your search for more relevant results.
Emerald This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database. Try adding (Aboriginal OR "Torres Strait Islander" OR Indigenous) AND Australia* to your search for more relevant results.

BlackWords (AustLit)
Provides access to a vast record of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers and their publications, including scholarly publications. You must register with the National Library of Australia or your State Library to gain full access to AustLit.

InfoKoori - Australian Indigenous Index This link opens in a new window
An index to the Koori Mail a national fortnightly newspaper published in Lismore, NSW, that focuses on the Indigenous people of Australia, from May 1991 to July 2016.

Google Scholar

Change your settings so that Find it @ SCU links automatically appear within Google Scholar in your search results:

Click the three horizontal lines (top left) then go to Settings (the cog at the bottom of the list)
Click Library links
Type in Southern Cross University and click the search button
Tick Southern Cross University - Find it @ SCU

If you use EndNote, under Bibliography Manager, select EndNote.
Click Save.

To retain these settings, you must turn on cookies in your browser settings.

Key Journals

Journal of the Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
A peer-reviewed, open access journal from the Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet.
Australian Indigenous HealthBulletin
Brings together the latest information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health, published by the Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet. Prior to December 2020 the HealthBulletin was also an online peer reviewed Journal.
International Journal of Indigenous Health
A peer reviewed and open access journal.
International Journal of Human Rights in Healthcare
A peer reviewed journal with a unique practical approach to promoting race equality, inclusion and human rights in health and social care.
Lowitja Institute eBulletin
The fortnightly eBulletin includes Lowitja Institute news and items of interest to people working in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.
Aboriginal and Islander Health Worker Journal
Ceased in 2016

Peer reviewed or scholarly?

You may be required to find peer-reviewed journal articles. Here are some tips for finding out if an article is published in a peer-reviewed journal:

There are 4 ways to check for peer-reviewed status:

does the database allow you to restrict your search to peer reviewed publications (like Ebsco)
does the database offer a way to check by clicking the journal title, or a browse title link (like APA-FT)
search a specialised database such as Ulrichsweb or Serials Directory for the journal title. In Ulrichsweb you are hoping to see a little black and white striped referee shirt , in Serials Directory you are hoping for a statement: "Peer Reviewed: Yes".
search the web for the home page of the journal. Look for an information for authors/contributors page. Does it tell authors that their work will be subject to a peer-reviewed process.

Also remember to check that your article is scholarly and not just an opinion or commentary piece that happens to be in a peer-reviewed publication. Some good indicators:

the author gives their academic qualifications/affiliations with a university
often there is an abstract
substantial document - longer than 2 pages
list of references at the end.

Research Ready - Scholarly vs non-scholarly sources

This module that explains the difference between Scholarly and non-Scholarly resources.

Research Ready - Evaluating resources

A short module showing how to evaluate resources using the CRAAP test