Skip to Main Content

Gnibi Postgraduate Studies

Alerts

Use alerts to:

  • save time;
  • quickly discover new material in your research area;
  • provide a comprehensive search across multiple publishers using databases.

You can easily be notified about new articles on your specific topic, or by your favourite authors.

Article alerts may be set up in most databases, and on Google and Google Scholar. 

Some databases also include citation alerts, such as Scopus and Web of Science.

Google Scholar alerts:

  1. Enter your keywords and click Search
  2. At the results page, click on the envelope icon
  3. Enter your email address and click on Create alert

(Remember to set your Google Scholar preferences to recognise SCU Library holdings and Endnote options).

Email alerts are available from most databases.  Email alerts usually require free registration.  Explore the database page for links to  register, email alerts, alerts or My Research and follow the prompts. 

Scopus
Click on Register enter your details and then click Set Alert after entering a search query.

Web of Science
Click on Register enter your details, then search for articles on your topic. Click on Search History and follow the prompts to save your alert.

RSS feeds

RSS feeds inform you of changes to web pages, blogs, podcasts and other web-based content that is regularly updated.

Locate RSS feeds on journals, news pages and websites by looking for the orange rectangle marked “XML”, “RSS”, “ATOM” or “FEED”.  Paste the URL into your preferred reader.

Web based RSS readers let you access these changes from any computer or device.

Look for the orange icons or links to “XML”, “RSS”, “ATOM” or “FEED”.

You can create RSS feeds from our databases - on specific search terms or authors, or by journal (so you receive each new 'table of contents'.

  1. Do your search in the database, then look for the Create Alert (or Save/Alert) prompts.
  2. Generate the RSS feed link. Right click on the RSS Feed URL and select  Copy Shortcut
  3. Click on the Save button
  4. Paste the URL into your RSS feed reader.
  5. Remove  .ezproxy.scu.edu.au  from the URL then click on Add
  6. If you need assistance, contact your liaison librarian.

TOCs (tables of contents)

Most of our journals and databases provide a TOC (table of contents) service. Email TOC alerts usually require (free) registration. Also look for the RSS Feeds option