Skip to main content

For Researchers

How to establish alerts

Databases which offer alerting systems usually require you to become a registered user. This is a free one off process completed on the database homepage and commonly involves creating a user name and password. Users need to be logged into the database to establish alerts.

Your liaison librarian can give advice on ways to set up alerts so that you receive only the types of articles you want. This can be done by personal appointment, telephone, or videochat. See the consultation tab on the left to access your librarian's details.

 

 

Types of alerts

Keep up-to-date by receiving notices of articles as they are published. Many databases offer an "alert" service in your chosen area of research. Once alerts are established you will receive regular information via email or RSS Feeds.

Table of Contents (ToC) Alerts

Receive the Table of Contents of each issue of your favourite journals as they are published.

Saved Search Alerts

Create a specific search using your own keywords. This is run at regular intervals with the results emailed to you.

Citation Alerts

Be notified when your articles, or articles of your choosing, have been cited.

Author Alerts

Create alerts for a specific author and be notified when that author publishes new articles.

 

Databases alerts instructions

Here are a sample of some relevant databases from which you can create alerts. Most databases provide this service, check the 'help' icon within the database to access the instructions.

  Saving searches as an alert Journal alerts
Ebsco saving a search as an alert setting a journal alert
Web of science saving a search as an alert setting a journal alert
Scopus saving a search as an alert follow this source
Informit

saving a search as an alert (video)

 

 

 

 

SCUSCU Library on FacebookSCU Library on TwitterSCU Library Instagram