Library guides: Evidence-Based Practice: Unfiltered Resources

Unfiltered resources

Unfiltered or primary sources provide evidence concerning a topic under investigation. Primary resources are generally articles that appear in peer-reviewed journals and are found primarily by searching databases.

What kinds of studies are relevant?

Clinical Trials
Randomized Control Trials
Multicentre Studies
Epidemiology Studies
Prospective Studies
Retrospective Studies
Cohort Studies
Case Control Studies

HP 2133 Mini-Note PC (side) by viagallery.com

Search Tip: to limit a search to unfiltered sources, try adding a search line limited to the Title field > study OR trial

Non-library databases

speechBITE
A database that provides open access to a catalogue of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy across the scope of Speech Pathology practice. This is an evidence based practice initiative between The University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.

MEDLINE with Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
To limit your MEDLINE search to the best evidence-producing studies, scroll down to select a type of Clinical Queries or Publication Types (hold CTRL to select multiple limits).
CINAHL Ultimate with full text (Ebsco)
Search for your topic and then Refine your results using the Clinical Queries, Randomized Controlled Trials or the Evidence Based Practice limit to search for evidence based material.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Do your search and then click on Additional filters. Evidence based material can be retrieved by ticking relevant boxes under Article Type (different phases of clinical trials, meta-analyses etc) or under Subject tick 'Systematic reviews'.
PICO search:
If you are interested only in clinical trials, you can also click on Clinical Queries under the 'Find' heading on the homepage.
APA PsycInfo® (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
International coverage of the professional and academic literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
To limit your PsycINFO search to studies or trials, click on Search Options to choose Methodology (study types).
Web of Science - all databases This link opens in a new window
International multidisciplinary index to the literature of the social, behavioral, and related sciences. Some of the research areas included that are relevant to health science researchers are: family studies, geriatrics & gerontology, health care sciences & services, linguistics, legal medicine, nursing, psychiatry, psychology, public environmental & occupational health, rehabilitation, biomedical social issues, substance abuse, and women's studies.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. Includes the EMBASE data. Updated daily.
SPORTDiscus with full text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to 550 journals for sports & sports medicine.
TripPro Database This link opens in a new window
Includes Advanced and PICO searches. Searches across a large range of evidence-based resources, both primary and secondary.